A change has been made to the inaugural FIA Formula E calendar ahead of the start of the season, with the Malaysian round of the series being postponed by five weeks.

The 2014 Putrajaya ePrix, originally scheduled for October 18, will now take place on November 22, but remains as round two of the championship. The date change has followed a request to series organisers from the office of Malaysian Prime Minister, Dato’ Sri Mohd Najib Bin Tun Haji Abdul Razak, who was unable to attend the previously-set event date.

In announcing the date change, Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag outlined the series’ reasoning for accomodating tge Prime Minister’s request: “The Prime Minister has been fundamental to the FIA Formula E Championship racing in Malaysia and, following lengthy consultation with the FIA and the local motorsport federation, Formula E has decided to honour the request to reschedule the Putrajaya ePrix.”

The city of Putrajaya is located 25 kilometres south of tge Malaysian capital Kuala Lumpur, and is actually the country’s administrative centre. As is the case for all events in the 2014/15 championship, Formula E will race on a street circuit in the city. Putrajaya also hosted a round of the Red Bull Air Race in May 2014.

Whilst the rescheduling shortens the break between the Putrajaya Street Circuit event and round three on the streets of Punta del Este, Uruguay on December 13, it is unlikely that the change will cause major logistical headaches for the series teams and organisers.

FIA Formula E 2014-5 Provisional Calendar:

Round ePrix Circuit Date
1. Beijing ePrix cn Beijing Olympic Green Circuit 13 September 2014
2. Putrajaya ePrix my Putrajaya Street Circuit 22 November 2014
3. Punta del Este ePrix uy Punta del Este Street Circuit 13 December 2014
4. Buenos Aires ePrix ar Puerto Madero Street Circuit 10 January 2015
5. TBA   TBA 14 February 2015
6. Miami ePrix Downtown Miami 14 March 2015
7. Long Beach ePrix Long Beach Street Circuit 4 April 2015
8. Monte Carlo ePrix Circuit de Monaco 9 May 2015
9. Berlin ePrix Berlin Tempelhof Airport 30 May 2015
10. London ePrix Battersea Park 27 June 2015

Formula E will hold a final pre-season test at Donington Park on August 19, before the inaugural championship event around the Olympic precinct of Beijing, China on September 13, 2014.

Image via FIA Formula E Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Mitch Timms

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Professional motorsport engineer and all-round tech head.