The New Zealand wildcard team Super Black Racing has, not surprisingly, announced an all-Kiwi driving line-up for its V8 Supercars Championship debut, the Bathurst 1000 in October.

The team has picked Andre Heimgartner and Ant Pedersen, two drivers currently competing in the Dunlop Development Series. The team will run a leased Ford Falcon FG with technical assistance from the factory Ford Performance Racing team.

“It is a big opportunity and to be in a New Zealand team is great as there will be a lot of support around us,” teenage racer Heimgartner, 19, said of his appointment.

“It is pretty special to be chosen to drive for a New Zealand team and to make my debut in their debut race is unique.”

“I am hugely excited and grateful for the opportunity and I can’t wait to get in the car for what is going to be a pretty special debut for Super Black,” 26-year-old Pedersen added.

“With a Kiwi team, Andre and I being Kiwis, it is all just really exciting. We certainly don’t underestimate the challenge. It will be really tough and we have to keep things in check in terms of our abilities and the expectations.

“Having FPR behind the project gives us confidence the team will be well-prepared and well- resourced. That ensures we have all the tools to have a successful debut. Success for us won’t be winning the race but we have the confidence and security knowing the right people and ingredients for a good race are there.”

Super Black Racing is one of three wildcard entries confirmed alongside the grid’s 25 regular cars for this year’s ‘Great Race’. The other two entries will be a pair of Holden Commodores fielded by the Dragon Motor Racing outfit, which has confirmed that Development Series racers Kristian Lindbom and Ben Schoots will form part of its four-man line-up.

Image via Super Black Racing

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.

Latest posts by Richard Bailey (see all)