IndyCar Series championship leader Will Power has unleashed a sensational performance in qualifying for Sunday’s Wisconsin 250 at the Milwaukee Mile to claim pole position for Sunday’s race.

The Team Penske lapped the one-mile oval with a two-lap average speed of 169.262mph. He was the only runner in the field to lap faster than 169mph, and finished up over half a mile per hour faster than fellow front-row man Tony Kanaan.

Power’s main championship rival, teammate Hélio Castroneves, will start from eighth position and will have to work his way forward if he hopes to keep the five-point deficit to the Australian in check.

Fellow championship contenders Simon Pagenaud and Ryan Hunter-Reay had poor sessions, qualifying sixteenth and nineteenth respectively.

It was a Penske/Ganassi affair on the first two rows, with Juan Pablo Montoya continuing his evergreen form to go third-fastest, while Ryan Briscoe popped up in fourth in the second of Ganassi’s four entries.

Fastest of the Honda runners was Josef Newgarden, who celebrated the Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing team’s upcoming merger with Ed Carpenter Racing by qualifying fifth-fastest. The top ten was completed by Charlie Kimball, Ed Carpenter, Castroneves, Marco Andretti and Takuma Sato.

It was a less than stellar session for a few more-fancied runners. Reigning champion Scott Dixon qualified eleventh, while James Hinchcliffe – who’d been fastest in final practice despite crashing – was thirteenth in his repaired Andretti entry.

2014 IndyCar Series Wisconsin 250 – Final Qualifying:

Driver Team / Entry Avg. Speed
1. Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet 169.262mph
2. Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 168.662mph
3. Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet 168.579mph
4. Ryan Briscoe Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 168.266mph
5. Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda Honda 168.233mph
6. Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 168.123mph
7. Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 167.775mph
8. Hélio Castroneves Team Penske Chevrolet Chevrolet 167.561mph
9. Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Honda Honda 167.079mph
10. Takuma Sato A.J. Foyt Enterprises Honda Honda 166.915mph
11. Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet Chevrolet 166.742mph
12. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing Honda Honda 166.501mph
13. James Hinchcliffe ca Andretti Autosport Honda Honda 166.195mph
14. Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda Honda 166.032mph
15. Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda Honda 165.851mph
16. Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda Honda 165.818mph
17. Jack Hawksworth Bryan Herta Autosport Honda Honda 165.614mph
18. Sébastien Bourdais KV Racing Technology Honda Honda 164.421mph
19. Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Honda Honda 164.211mph
20. Carlos Muñoz Andretti Autosport Honda Honda 164.013mph
21. Sebastián Saavedra KV Racing Technology / AFS Racing Honda Honda 162.535mph
22. Carlos Huertas Dale Coyne Racing Honda Honda 159.787mph

Image via

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.