Felipe Nasr has seen off the challenge from Johnny Cecotto Jr. to win the sprint race at Spa-Francorchamps and his fourth win of the year. Championship leader Jolyon Palmer rounded out the podium for DAMS.

Nasr, who started the race from fifth position, made a fantastic getaway and was in the lead by the first corner. Cecotto also benefitted from a great start, going from sixth to second in the same fashion.

It was the second time in as many races where Cecotto made an appearance on the podium, finishing third in yesterday’s feature race.


The race started with all drivers starting on the slick tyres, with some drivers reporting difficulties in getting heat in the tyres due to the cool and damp nature of the track.

Reverse grid pole sitter Daniel Abt suffered a poor start and dropped to fourth by the Les Combes chicane. He remained there for the most part of the race until a charging Mitch Evans passed him on the penultimate lap.

Feature race winner Raffaele Marciello was back to his unlucky ways, spinning his car on the first lap at Les Combes sending him down the order to 24th. He made a respectable recovery and ended the race in 14th.

Artem Markelov, who was a star of yesterday, had a dreadful start to the sprint race. Starting from second position, the Russian Time driver bogged down at the start, dropping 10 places to 12th position on the first lap after making too many rookie mistakes.

By the third lap he had dropped to 19th position. The team decided to pit him for what everyone thought would be a retirement, however he returned to the track five laps later to gain some more experience.

After a good 15 laps of pushing Nasr at a distance of less than a second, Cecotto started to fade away with three laps remaining. Nasr took advantage of Cecotto’s lack of speed, crossing the finish line with five seconds to spare.

2014 GP2 Series Race of Belgium – Sprint Race Result (18 laps)

Driver Team / Entry Laps Result
1. Felipe Nasr Carlin Motorsport 18 36:14.575
2. Johnny Cecotto Jr Trident Racing 18 + 5.157
3. Jolyon Palmer DAMS 18 + 7.157
4. Mitch Evans RT Russian Time 18 + 7.598
5. Daniel Abt Hilmer Motorsport 18 + 10.019
6. Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 18 + 10.648
7. Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering 18 + 14.038
8. Andre Negrão Arden International 18 + 20.391
9. Tom Dillman EQ8 Caterham Racing 18 + 21.675
10. Julián Leal Carlin Motorsport 18 + 22.486
11. Marco Sørensen dk MP Motorsport 18 + 26.510
12. Stéphane Richelmi DAMS 18 + 28.491
13. Daniël de Jong MP Motorsport 18 + 27.790
14. Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering 18 + 36.284
15. Nathanaël Berthon Venezuela GP Lazarus 18 + 40.238
16. Rio Haryanto EQ8 Caterham Racing 18 + 51.786
17. Simon Trummer Rapax Team 18 + 54.342
18. Kimiya Sato Campos Racing 18 + 54.604
19. Conor Daly Venezuela GP Lazarus 18 + 54.874
20. Arthur Pic Campos Racing 18 + 55.574
21. Andrew Quaife-Hobbs Rapax Team 18 + 59.175
22. Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix 18 + 59.423
23. René Binder Arden International 18 + 1:16.688
Not Classified
DNF. Sergio Canamasas es Trident Racing 13 Mechanical
NC. Artem Markelov RT Russian Time 7 – 11 laps
DNF. Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport 3 Mechanical

 Images via GP2 Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)