Stoffel Vandoorne has led from start to finish claiming his second feature race win in the GP2 series at Monza.

Arthur Pic pushed Vandoorne the entire race to finish second by two-tenths of a second, while Kiwi Mitch Evans rounded out the podium.

While Vandoorne’s drive was very impressive, holding off a pressing Pic, the story of the day goes to Jolyon Palmer’s drive from last to eighth, earning reverse grid pole for tomorrow’s sprint race.

His strong championship lead seemed to be in jeopardy as he was disqualified from qualifying after failing to produce the required fuel sample at the end of the session. Championship rival Felipe Nasr qualified seventh and was a real threat to close the gap to Palmer.

Monza podium

The Briton stormed through the field, out-braking many into the first chicane and passing with ease, setting multiple fastest laps in the process.

Nasr’s mediocre race saw him fail to capitalise on the situation before him, only finishing two places ahead of Palmer and reducing the gap by two points.

Vandoorne was able to do more damage to the championship table, reducing the gap to Palmer to 52 points.

Despite the busy start with Simon Trummer and Artem Markelov stalling on the grid, all drivers were able to steer clear and avoid contact with each other. It was the second lap where the tangles took place.

Kimiya Sato took too much speed heading into the first chicane and took himself out of the race, while Takuya Izawa was hit by René Binder, which saw the slow starting Raffaele Marciello forced off the track.

By this point Vandoorne had made a comfortable lead of three seconds, which was eventually wiped two laps later as Pic reeled the ART driver in.

Stéphane Richelmi and Nasr were the first lead drivers to pit on lap 11, which saw the rest of the leaders follow suit in the subsequent laps.

Daniel Abt had made an early pit stop which saw him jump a few positions into the top 10, but while fighting for position with Julian Leal he was forced off the track at Turn Seven and slid into the wall. Leal was deemed to be at fault and received a drive through penalty.

Rio Haryanto and debutant Pierre Gasly also received drive-through penalties for speeding in the pit lane, while Sergio Canamasas earned his for being out of position on the starting grid.

2014 GP2 Series Race of Italy – Feature Race Result (30 laps)

Driver Team / Entry Laps Result
1. Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 30 48:02.203
2. Arthur Pic Campos Racing 30 + 0.673
3. Mitch Evans RT Russian Time 30 + 4.102
4. Stéphane Richelmi DAMS 30 + 9.502
5. Andre Negrão Arden International 30 + 11.140
6. Felipe Nasr Carlin Motorsport 30 + 11.605
7. Marco Sørensen dk MP Motorsport 30 + 14.458
8. Jolyon Palmer DAMS 30 + 15.049
9. Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering 30 + 16.704
10. Johnny Cecotto Jr Trident Racing 30 + 17.164
11. Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport 30 + 29.125
12. Nathanaël Berthon Venezuela GP Lazarus 30 + 29.928
13. Julián Leal Carlin Motorsport 30 + 44.529
14. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs* Rapax Team 30 + 45.885
15. Sergio Campana es Venezuela GP Lazarus 30 + 49.032
16. Rio Haryanto EQ8 Caterham Racing 30 + 57.081
17. Pierre Gasly EQ8 Caterham Racing 30 + 57.868
18. Sergio Canamasas es Trident Racing 30 + 1:03.139
19. Simon Trummer Rapax Team 30 + 1:10.746
20. René Binder Arden International 30 + 1:13.478
21. Artem Markelov RT Russian Time 29 1 lap behind
Not Classified
DNF. Daniel Abt Hilmer Motorsport 18 Accident
DNF. Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix 1 Collision
DNF. Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering 1 Collision
DNF. Kimiya Sato Campos Racing 1 Collision
DNF. Daniël de Jong MP Motorsport 1 Collision

* Quaife-Hobbs had a 20-second post-race time penalty issued after being found guilty of leaving the track and gaining an advantage, overtaking Cecotto in the process.

Images via GP2 Media

Formula Legend Banner

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)