Shane van Gisbergen has scored back-to-back pole positions in the wake of his Bathurst 1000 effort a fortnight ago, with the Kiwi putting he and co-driver Jonathon Webb in prime position for the first of this weekend’s two races at the Gold Coast 600.

The Kiwi – renowned as a street circuit specialist – was fourth-fastest in preliminary qualifying and then pulled together the perfect lap in the one-lap Top 10 Shootout to knock Tim Slade’s SuperCheap Racing Holden from top spot.

Neither of the Red Bull Racing Holdens of Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes were able to better van Gisbergen’s effort. Whincup twice slapped the wall with power-down oversteer, while Lowndes’ time was waved off after he exceeded the track limits at the first chicane.

That left provisional pole-sitter Scott McLaughlin as the sole man who could topple van Gisbergen, but the Volvo driver was unable to do so, ultimately losing too much time in the first sector – he clawed his way back to be just 0.07 seconds behind by the end of his lap.

David Reynolds, Lee Holdsworth, Nick Percat and Michael Caruso complete the Shootout field, claiming grid positions six to nine – Holdsworth was subsequently demoted two grid spots for impeding Bathurst winner Chaz Mostert in the first qualifying session.

The factory FPR cars had a double disaster, with Mostert’s teammate Mark Winterbottom failing to make the Shootout, qualifying eleventh-fastest. ‘Frosty’ compounded his misfortunes by sliding down the Turn 11 escape road on his final flying lap, ensuring he wouldn’t proceed to the Shootout session. Mostert also had to pit for a new front spoiler after misjudging the beachfront chicane.

Regular frontrunner James Courtney also had a poor session in the #2 HRT Commodore, qualifying fourteenth-fastest after tagging the concrete barriers.

Such were the struggles of Swedish import Robert Dahlgren, the Polestar GRM team took the decision to install co-driver Greg Ritter in the cockpit for the preliminary qualifying session. The veteran qualified 18th-fastest – the third-best result for the #34 car this year – and some three grid positions better than Dahlgren’s average grid effort this season to-date.

Today’s 300-kilometre race over 102 laps kicks off at 2:40pm local time (GMT +10).

2014 V8 Supercars Gold Coast 600 – Race 1 Qualifying Results:

Top-10 Shootout Team / Entry Result
1. Shane van Gisbergen / Jonathon Webb Holden Team TEKNO VIP Petfoods 1:11.3242
2. Scott McLaughlin / Alexandre Premat Volvo Valvoline Racing Polestar GRM + 0.0753
3. Tim Slade / Tony D’Alberto Holden SuperCheap Auto Racing + 0.1984
4. Garth Tander / Warren Luff Holden Holden Racing Team + 0.2081
5. Jamie Whincup / Paul Dumbrell Holden Red Bull Racing Australia + 0.3321
6. David Reynolds / Dean Canto Ford The Bottle-O Racing Team + 0.4220
7. Lee Holdsworth / Craig Baird^ AMG Erebus Motorsport V8 + 0.7580
8. Nick Percat / Oliver Gavin Holden HHA Racing + 0.9420
9. Michael Caruso / Dean Fiore Nissan Norton Hornets + 1.2995
10. Craig Lowndes / Steven Richards Holden Red Bull Racing Australia no time
Top-10 Shootout Cut-Off – 1:11.3365 Team / Entry Result*
11. Mark Winterbottom / Steve Owen Ford Pepsi Max Crew Ford Performance Racing + 0.5045
12. Rick Kelly / David Russell Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing + 0.5050
13. Fabian Coulthard / Luke Youlden Holden Lockwood Racing + 0.5413
14. James Courtney / Greg Murphy Holden Holden Racing Team + 0.5699
15. David Wall / Steven Johnson Ford Wilson Security Racing + 0.5851
16. James Moffat / Taz Douglas Nissan Norton Hornets + 0.6523
17. Will Davison / Alex Davison AMG Erebus Motorsport V8 + 0.7648
18. Robert Dahlgren / Greg Ritter Volvo Valvoline Racing Polestar GRM + 0.7680
19. Chaz Mostert / Paul Morris Ford Pepsi Max Crew Ford Performance Racing + 0.8253
20. Todd Kelly / Alex Buncombe Nissan Jack Daniel’s Racing + 0.9672
21. Jack Perkins / Cameron Waters Ford Team Jeld-Wen + 1.0038
22. Scott Pye / Ashley Walsh Ford Wilson Security Racing + 1.0170
23. Dale Wood / Chris Pither Holden Team ADVAM / GB + 1.1460
24. Jason Bright / Andrew Jones Holden Team BOC + 1.1782
25. Russell Ingall / Tim Blanchard Holden Repair Management Australia Racing + 1.3266

* Denotes gap to fastest preliminary qualifying time of 1:10.8672 by Scott McLaughlin
^ Two-place grid penalty imposed for impeding Chaz Mostert during preliminary qualifying

Images via V8 Supercars Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Christian Hartung