Next year’s World Touring Car Championship season could prove to be even more of a Citroën rout, with confirmation that five C-Elysée WTCCs will be on the 2015 grid.

Newly-crowned WTCC champion José María López, four-time WTCC champion Yvan Muller, and nine-time WRC champion Sébastien Loeb will all remain on board in the three factory cars.

Meanwhile, Loeb’s eponymous racing team, Sébastien Loeb Racing, will make its WTCC debut next year fielding a pair of satellite entries using two of this year’s cars.

“Since it was created, SLR has amassed real know-how at international circuits, in both GT and sports prototype racing. The FIA WTCC marks a new stage in the team’s development,” team owner and continuing factory driver  Sébastien Loeb said.

“I didn’t have to think for very long when the opportunity presented itself for the 2015 season. Since the new TC1s were introduced, the championship has been attracting more and more interest, and it’s great for Sébastien Loeb Racing to be involved.”

The factory outfit dominated in its debut year of racing in the WTCC, winning 17 of the season’s 23 races to wrap up the Manufacturers’ Championship crown with three races to go, while López rocketed to the Drivers’ Championship title.

SLR has not yet announced which drivers it will field in 2015, although a likely prospect would be occasional racer Ma Qing Hua, who raced part-time in a fourth Citroën at a number of championship rounds, claiming one race win at Russia.

Image via Christian Hartung

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.