Lewis Hamilton has made a dominant start to the final race weekend in Abu Dhabi, finishing both Friday practice sessions ahead of his team-mate Nico Rosberg.

Although the margin between the two Mercedes drivers was 0.083 seconds, Hamilton looked much more comfortable and consistent with his race simulation laps. While Hamilton was able to keep his lap times in the 1m47s, Rosberg was unable to set consecutive lap times that were close to Hamilton’s.


Both drivers experimented with the super soft tyres, however the soft tyres seem to be quicker over the long run. Williams’ Valtteri Bottas spent his race simulation mainly on the super soft tyre and was around two seconds off the Mercedes’ pace.

The two Red Bull drivers Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo finished fifth and seventh respectively, and were both competitive on their long runs. Vettel was able to keep a few of his race simulation laps within a couple of tenths to Hamilton’s laps.

Kimi Raikkonen ended the session third in the Ferrari, 17 positions better than team-mate Fernando Alonso who broke down on his second lap due to an electronics failure.

Jenson Button again had car troubles before going out, this time it was a hydraulics failure keeping the Briton in the garage for a good part of the practice session. Both he and Kevin Magnussen were posting similar lap times on the soft and super soft tyre, two seconds off the Mercedes.

Will Stevens had a better run than he did in FP1 completing 33 laps, however he was still 1.6 seconds off Kamui Kobayashi’s pace in the other Caterham.

2014 Abu Dhabi Formula 1 Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 Results:

Driver Team / Entry Time Gap Laps
1. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG Petronas F1W05 1:42.113 35
2. Nico Rosberg Mercedes AMG Petronas F1W05 1:42.196 + 0.083 37
3. Kevin Magnussen McLaren Mercedes MP4-29 1:42.895 + 0.782 37
4. Sebastian Vettel Infiniti Red Bull Racing Renault RB10 1:42.959 + 0.846 33
5. Valtteri Bottas Williams Martini Racing Mercedes FW36 1:43.070 + 0.957 34
6. Daniel Ricciardo Infiniti Red Bull Racing Renault RB10 1:43.183 + 1.070 32
7. Kimi Räikkönen Scuderia Ferrari F14T 1:43.489 + 1.376 33
8. Jenson Button McLaren Mercedes MP4-29 1:43.503 + 1.390 23
9. Daniil Kvyat Scuderia Toro Rosso Renault STR9 1:43.546 + 1.433 38
10. Felipe Massa Williams Martini Racing Mercedes FW36 1:43.558 + 1.445 34
11. Sergio Pérez Force India Mercedes Mercedes VJM07 1:43.746 + 1.633 37
12. Pastor Maldonado Lotus F1 Team Renault E22 1:44.005 + 1.892 38
13. Nico Hülkenberg Force India Mercedes Mercedes VJM07 1:44.068 + 1.955 32
14. Jean-Éric Vergne Scuderia Toro Rosso Renault STR9 1:44.157 + 2.044 39
15. Esteban Gutiérrez Sauber F1 Team Ferrari C33 1:44.316 + 2.203 38
16. Adrian Sutil Sauber F1 Team Ferrari C33 1:44.763 + 2.650 37
17. Romain Grosjean Lotus F1 Team Renault E22 1:44.986 + 2.873 35
18. Kamui Kobayashi Caterham F1 Team Renault CT05 1:45.505 + 3.392 38
19. Will Stevens Caterham F1 Team Renault CT05 1:47.057 + 4.944 34
20. Fernando Alonso Scuderia Ferrari F14T no time 2

Images via XPB Images

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)