The Sahara Force India F1 Team will have an unchanged driver line-up in 2015, with the Silverstone outfit announcing that Sergio Pérez has extended his contract to race for the team alongside Nico Hülkenberg.

The 24-year-old Mexican joined Force India at the start of the 2014 season – after an unimpressive single season at McLaren – and enjoyed immediate success by claiming their only podium finish of the season at Bahrain, his third outing for the team.

“As soon as I joined Sahara Force India, I noticed the hunger and determination of everyone in the team, and I’m very proud to be part of that,” Pérez said.

“It’s important for me to establish myself in a team and have some continuity. The team have given me a competitive car this year and I believe we can continue to achieve great things together in the future.”

“I am delighted that Checo will continue with us. He’s a true racer who has done a fantastic job for us this season,” added team boss Vijay Mallya.

“The whole team has been impressed with his speed and racecraft, as well as his role away from the track. He has a very bright future in Formula 1 and we will do our utmost to give him the equipment to match his talent.

“I look forward to celebrating more strong results with Checo this year and in years to come, and I cannot wait for Checo’s first home Grand Prix in Mexico in front of his huge following of passionate fans.”

The announcement is not hugely surprising – Mallya has long indicated his desire to keep Pérez on board – but it does close out one more piece of the driver market puzzle and effectively leaves McLaren as the only team to announce its 2015 driver line-up.

What is almost certain is that one of McLaren’s two drivers, Jenson Button or Kevin Magnussen, will not be on the starting grid next year, if Fernando Alonso’s much-expected arrival there is to be confirmed after this weekend.

Image via XPB Images

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.