The notional Korean Grand Prix has been dropped from the 2015 Formula 1 Championship calendar, the FIA World Motor Sport Council has confirmed. The 2015 season will run for twenty races – starting in Australia in March and ending in Abu Dhabi in November – up from the nineteen in 2014 thanks to the return of the Mexican Grand Prix.

The little-loved Grand Prix in Korea was a surprise last-minute addition to an updated 2015 calendar after a meeting of the WMSC last month. The Yeongyam venue – which held four Grands Prix between 2010 and 2013 – had its event slated for a May 3 date as a fifth race in the opening run of ‘flyaway’ races, one week prior to the Spanish Grand Prix, the opening race of the European leg of the season.

Doubts were immediately raised as to whether the event would ever occur, and this week’s confirmation proves them true.

F1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone claimed that the race was added onto the updated calendar for “legal reasons”, but that organisers “would rather it not happen”.

“We have a contract with Korea… we have to put it on the calendar. If we hadn’t have done they could have sued us,” he said. “We let them off for a year on the understanding they would be back [in 2015].”

The latest stories suggest that the Korean government is going to give Formula 1 another crack and is seeking approval to stage a street circuit race in its capital, Seoul – potentially a far more lucrative option than the $70 million white elephant in Yeongyam.

Image via 

2015 Formula 1 Championship Calendar (Final):

Date Event Venue
15 March Australian Grand Prix au Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit, Melbourne
29 March Malaysian Grand Prix it Sepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur
12 April Chinese Grand Prix cn Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai
19 April Bahrain Grand Prix it Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir
10 May Spanish Grand Prix it Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Barcelona
24 May Monaco Grand Prix it Circuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo
07 June Canadian Grand Prix it Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal
21 June Austrian Grand Prix it Red Bull Ring, Spielberg
05 July British Grand Prix it Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone
19 July German Grand Prix it Nürburgring, Nürburg
26 July Hungarian Grand Prix it Hungaroring, Budapest
23 August Belgian Grand Prix au Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Stavelot
06 September Italian Grand Prix it Autodromo Nazionale di Monza, Milan
20 September Singapore Grand Prix sg Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore
27 September Japanese Grand Prix jp Suzuka Circuit, Suzuka
11 October Russian Grand Prix ru Sochi Autodrom, Sochi
25 October United States Grand Prix ru Circuit of the Americas, Austin
01 November Mexican Grand Prix cn Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico City
15 November Brazilian Grand Prix au Autódromo José Carlos Pace, São Paulo
29 November Abu Dhabi Grand Prix au Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi

Image via XPB Images

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.