Britain’s principal Formula 1 broadcasters, the SKY F1 and the BBC, have announced how they will share out live coverage of the 2015 Formula 1 season. Headlining this is an increase in the BBC‘s live broadcast offering, which increases to ten races for the forthcoming season.

As part of a shared services deal agreed at the start of 2012 when the BBC sold off its exclusive British broadcasting rights to the SKY pay-TV group, SKY will broadcast all Grand Prix sessions live, with half of the season being exclusively live. The BBC gets to broadcast live for half of the season, and deliver a one-hour highlights package later in the day.

For the 2015 season, SKY will have exclusive broadcasting rights to the season-opening Australian Grand Prix, the blue-ribband Monaco Grand Prix and Formula 1’s return to Mexico later in the year.

For Australian fans, Ten Sports will continue to hold exclusive live broadcasting of qualifying and each race. Commentary feed will be pulled from SKY.

2015 F1 British Broadcasting Breakdown:

Date Event Who’s broadcasting live?
15 March Australian Grand Prix au SKY
29 March Malaysian Grand Prix it SKY / BBC
12 April Chinese Grand Prix cn SKY
19 April Bahrain Grand Prix it SKY / BBC
10 May Spanish Grand Prix it SKY
24 May Monaco Grand Prix it SKY
07 June Canadian Grand Prix it SKY / BBC
21 June Austrian Grand Prix it SKY
05 July British Grand Prix it SKY / BBC
19 July German Grand Prix it SKY
26 July Hungarian Grand Prix it SKY / BBC
23 August Belgian Grand Prix au SKY / BBC
06 September Italian Grand Prix it SKY
20 September Singapore Grand Prix sg SKY
27 September Japanese Grand Prix jp SKY / BBC
11 October Russian Grand Prix ru SKY / BBC
25 October United States Grand Prix ru SKY
01 November Mexican Grand Prix cn SKY
15 November Brazilian Grand Prix au SKY / BBC
29 November Abu Dhabi Grand Prix au SKY / BBC

Image via XPB Images

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.