For the first time in over 54 years, Germany will not host a Formula 1 race, as the FIA confirmed that “the Commercial Rights Holder and promoter did not reach an agreement” to save the German Grand Prix. This means the 2015 season is shortened to 19 races.

Aside from the inaugural World Championship season in 1950, the German Grand Prix has been held every year, with the exception of 1960. That year’s race was cancelled at the behest of the drivers, who deemed the venue – the AVUS circuit – too dangerous for Formula 1 cars following the death of Jean Behra in a sports car support race the year before.

Since 2007, the German Grand Prix has been run at the Hockenheim and Nürburgring circuits on alternating seasons, with neither circuit able to afford to sanctioning fees to remain on the calendar every year – the round at the Nürburgring had previously been designated the ‘European Grand Prix’.

The Nürburgring was slated to host this year’s German Grand Prix, but has subsequently ruled out being able to do so in light of its ongoing financial problems.

All eyes then turned to Hockenheim to save the event, but Georg Seiler, the circuit’s boss, had already admitted that it was too late to strike a deal and it would be impossible to market the event properly to guarantee high ticket sales.

Image via Team BHP

The following two tabs change content below.

Blaž Štremfelj

Journalist at MotorsportM8