Craig Lowndes has won a hat-trick of pole positions at this weekend’s Tasmania Tyrepower SuperSprint round of the V8 Supercars Championship, and will start from the prime grid spot for Sunday’s 200-kilometre Feature Race.

The 40-year-old series veteran will target an historic 100th touring car race win, having swept to victory in Saturday’s two sprint races.

The Red Bull Racing driver dominated proceedings once again in the early exchanges of a frantic 20-minute session – where 24 of the 25-car field was covered by just 0.6 seconds – before switching to fresh tyres and lowering the benchmark with a 51.7978-second lap time.

He just edged out David Reynolds in the Bottle-O Racing Falcon, out-pacing the one-lap specialist by a narrow four-hundredths of a second. Defending series champion Jamie Whincup was right behind, a further 0.01s adrift. Will Davison, Shane van Gisbergen and Chaz Mostert rounded out the top six.

Rookie driver Andre Heimgartner continued his impressive qualifying run at the Tasmanian track with another top-ten effort for the new Super Black Racing team. The Kiwi teenager will start ahead of Garth Tander, Mark Winterbottom and Jason Bright.

Scott McLaughlin and James Courtney will start just outside the top ten in eleventh and twelfth respectively.

The 84-lap Feature Race will get underway at 2:00pm local time (GMT +11); each driver will be allocated a new set of Dunlop’s Soft tyre compound to run in race conditions for the first time this season.

2015 V8 Supercars Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint – Race 6 Qualifying Top-10
Pos Driver Team / Entry Time
1. Craig Lowndes Red Bull Racing Australia 51.7978
2. David Reynolds Bottle-O Racing Team + 0.0485
3. Jamie Whincup Red Bull Racing Australia + 0.0554
4. Will Davison Erebus Motorsport V8 + 0.1084
5. Shane van Gisbergen* Team Darrell Lea STIX + 0.1147
6. Chaz Mostert Pepsi Max Crew + 0.2121
7. Andre Heimgartner Super Black Racing + 0.2194
8. Garth Tander Holden Racing Team + 0.2241
9. Mark Winterbottom Pepsi Max Crew + 0.2690
10. Jason Bright Team BOC + 0.2994

Click here for the full qualifying results

Image via V8 Supercars Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.