Red Bull Racing driver Daniel Ricciardo has been recognied as the ‘World Breakthrough of the Year’ in the 2014 Laureus Sports Awards.

Dubbed the ‘Oscars of sports’ the Laureus Awards are held annually to recognised outstanding achievements in the sporting world. Ricciardo was promoted to the Red Bull Racing outfit for the 2014 season and was the only non-Mercedes driver to claim victory during the year with wins in Canada, Hungary and Belgium en route to finishing third in the Drivers’ Championship standings.

The Australian beat the likes of tennis player Marin Cilić, alpine skier Mikaela Shiffrin, the Swiss Davis Cup team and footballers Mario Götze and James Rodriguez for the honour.

He is the fourth Formula 1 driver to be recognised with this title, following in the footsteps of Juan Pablo Montoya (2002), Lewis Hamilton (2008) and Jenson Button (2010).

2014 champions Lewis Hamilton and the Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team were nominated for the World Sportsman of the Year and Team of the Year crowns respectively, but these were claimed by tennis star Novak Djokovic and Germany’s World Cup-winning football team.

Image via Infiniti Red Bull Racing

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.