Campos Racing’s Rio Haryanto claimed his first win in the GP2 series on Sunday’s Sprint Race in Bahrain.

Lining up seventh on the grid after finishing second in the Feature Race, Haryanto made a great start and he jumped into third position after the first lap. He then passed Mitch Evans for second place on lap four using DRS.

Julian Leal started on pole for the Sprint Race, however didn’t have the pace to hold a strong lead as it only took Haryanto four laps after passing Evans to take the lead.


Stoffel Vandoorne, who won yesterday’s feature race, continued his stellar weekend by coming through the field from eighth to second position.

After making a poor start, Nathaniel Berthon dropped to eighth and was forced to claw his way back through the field. He made up his positions towards the end of the race where other drivers were struggling for grip on their fading tyres and ended the race in third position for Lazarus.

Alexander Rossi finished the race in fourth for Racing Engineering while early race leader Leal could only manage fifth position after passing Nobuharu Matsushita on the last lap.

Rossi’s team-mate Jordan King was showing good pace again for the Sprint Race, until he got in a tangle with Sergio Canamasas at Turns Four and Five. Canamasas was penalised after the race after the Stewards deemed that he did not leave King enough room. He will drop three grid places next race in Spain.

Evans picked up a puncture while fighting for position with Leal which saw him finish down the order in 17th.


The GP2 Series’ next round takes place during the Spanish Grand Prix weekend at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya on May 8-10.

2015 GP2 Series Bahrain Sprint Race – Final Classification (23 laps)
Driver Team / Entry Laps Result
1. Rio Haryanto id Campos Racing 23 41:35.490
2. Stoffel Vandoorne be ART Grand Prix 23 + 3.004
3. Nathanaël Berthon fr Lazarus 23 + 5.639
4. Alexander Rossi us Racing Engineering 23 + 6.258
5. Julián Leal co Carlin 23 + 13.945
6. Nobuharu Matsushita jp ART Grand Prix 23 + 15.923
7. Robert Vișoiu ro Rapax 23 + 19.794
8. André Negrão br Arden International 23 + 20.159
9. Jordan King uk Racing Engineering 23 + 21.101
10. Arthur Pic fr Campos Racing 23 + 25.690
11. Richie Stanaway nz Status Grand Prix 23 + 32.040
12. Artem Markelov ru RUSSIAN TIME 23 + 33.200
13. Daniël de Jong nl MP Motorsport 23 + 34.335
14. Sergey Sirotkin ru Rapax 23 + 34.361
15. Alex Lynn uk DAMS 23 + 35.050
16. Norman Nato fr Arden International 23 + 39.501
17. Mitch Evans nz RUSSIAN TIME 23 + 39.536
18. Zoël Amberg ch Lazarus 23 + 41.084
19. Marlon Stöckinger ph Status Grand Prix 23 + 43.390
20. Raffaele Marciello it Trident 23 + 47.545
21. Marco Sørenson dk Carlin 23 + 49.715
22. Pierre Gasly fr DAMS 23 + 56.504
Not Classified Team / Entry Laps Result
DNF. Sergio Canamasas es MP Motorsport 4 Collision
DNF. René Binder at Trident 2 Mechanical

Images via GP2 Series Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)