Chaz Mostert has given the Prodrive Racing squad a clean sweep of pole positions, leading home teammate Mark Winterbottom in another front row lockout for Sunday’s 200-kilometre Feature Race of the UBET Perth V8 Supercars Championship round at Barbagallo Raceway.

The two Pepsi-liveried Falcon FG X racers again proved the class of the field in Sunday’s 20-minute qualifying session, with both drivers moving to the top of the order in the final three minutes of play.

It was a session disrupted by two red flags. The first occurred after five minutes when Lee Holdsworth rolled his CSR Holden Commodore at Turn 6; he slid wide into the gravel trap and the wheels dug into the soft sand to tip him into a slow inversion – he was able to climb out of the car without drama and will take part in the race.

“When you look at the car all that is broken is the mirror, the sand is so soft down there that once I went in it just dug in and eventually went into a slow roll,” he shrugged afterwards.

“I knew there would be no damage to the car but obviously be very frustrated to not be out there for qualifying and makes our day a lot harder.”

The second stoppage, which came with five minutes to go, was controversial to say the least.

Fabian Coulthard locked a front right brake on approach to the same corner and slid wide into the sand trap before gently nosing into the tyre wall. The New Zealander immediately plucked reverse gear and was able to get back onto the track under his own power, but officials unfurled the red flags almost as soon as he touched the tyres.

That effectively banned him from any further action – he would subsequently qualify 24th-fastest, ahead of only Holdsworth who hadn’t set a time – and it left the field with a single flying lap at the death of the session to determine the starting order for the afternoon’s 83-lap race.

The two Prodrive Fords did the job, demoting provisional pole-sitter and local driver Garth Tander to third-fastest in his HRT Commodore.

Reigning champion Jamie Whincup ended the session fourth-fastest in his Red Bull Racing Holden; he and teammate Craig Lowndes sandwiched David Reynolds’ Bottle-O Ford in fifth place. on the timesheets.

Will Davison continued his very consistent weekend to qualify seventh-fastest in his Erebus Mercedes AMG, ahead of Tim Slade, Shane van Gisbergen and James Moffat.

2015 V8 Supercars UBET Perth SuperSprint – Race 9 Qualifying Top-10
Pos Driver Team / Entry Time
1. Chaz Mostert Pepsi Max Crew 57.1321
2. Mark Winterbottom Pepsi Max Crew + 0.1550
3. Garth Tander Holden Racing Team + 0.1917
4. Jamie Whincup Red Bull Racing Australia + 0.2803
5. David Reynolds Bottle-O Racing Team + 0.2925
6. Craig Lowndes Red Bull Racing Australia + 0.3065
7. Will Davison Erebus Motorsport V8 + 0.3360
8. Tim Slade SuperCheap Auto Racing + 0.3378
9. Shane van Gisbergen Team Darrell Lea STIX + 0.3993
10. James Moffat Nissan Motorsport + 0.4149

Sunday’s 200-kilometre Feature Race takes place over 83 laps from 2:20pm local time (GMT +8).

Image via V8 Supercars Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.