The biggest weekend of the GP2 series has arrived, with Monaco playing host to the third round of the championship.

After the first two rounds, ART’s Stoffel Vandoorne has taken a commanding lead collecting two Feature Race victories, four podiums, two pole positions and two fastest laps. Although the Belgian holds a comfortable lead there have been impressive drives from his rivals. Rio Haryanto, who is second in the championship, wasn’t able to make it to the podium in Barcelona, however, he collected handy points for his championship campaign.

Alexander Rossi

Alexander Rossi (Racing Engineering)

Racing Engineering’s Alexander Rossi is three points behind Haryanto in third and is a strong contender for a race win this weekend, having come so close last round in Barcelona. The American, along with an in form Mitch Evans, lost out to Vandoorne on an alternate tyre strategy and finished third behind Evans.

Four drivers on the current grid have achieved podium finishes in Monaco previously, with Johnny Cecotto, Mitch Evans, Rio Haryanto and Sergio Canamasas all having stood on the unique podium.

Just like Formula One, the GP2 cars will run the super soft and soft compound tyres around Monaco’s narrow streets. Given the twisting nature of the circuit, strategy will play an important role come the feature race on Friday and gain track position through the pit stops.

The qualifying format is different in Monaco than other races, where the field is split into two groups; Group A will carry the drivers with even numbers while group B will have the drivers with odd numbers. Group A will take to the track for the first 16 minutes of qualifying, while group B will follow for the remaining 16 minutes.

 Group A:  Group B:
 02 Alex Lynn  01 Pierre Gasly
 04 Marco Sørensen  03 Julián Leal
 06 Nobuharu Matsushita  05 Stoffel Vandoorne
 08 Alexander Rossi  07 Jordan King
 10 Artem Markelov  09 Mitch Evans
 12 Rene Binder  11 Raffaele Marciello
 14 Arthur Pic  15 Rio Haryanto
 16 Sergio Canamasas  17 Daniël de Jong
 18 Sergey Sirotkin  19 Robert Vişoiu
 20 Andre Negrão  21 Norman Nato
 22 Marlon Stöckinger  23 Richie Stanaway
 24 Nick Yelloly  25 Johnny Cecotto Jr.
 26 Nathanael Berthon  27 Zoel Amberg


Images via GP2 Series Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)