Alexander Rossi has stormed to pole position for the Monaco Grand Prix Feature Race, topping Group B by 0.6 seconds ahead of Arthur Pic.

Raffaele Marciello was quickest in Group A which will see him line up alongside Rossi on the front row of the grid.

At the beginning of Group A’s 16-minute session, drops of rain began to fall again after rain had fallen heavily during Formula One’s second practice session. Some drivers attempted to take to the track using the soft compound tyre while others played it safe with the full wets. The latter option proved to be a winner as the rain picked up.

Status Grand Prix’s Richie Stanaway was the early pacesetter for the first group, although once the tyres warmed up the lap times began to fall. Marciello was dominant in the wet conditions, holding P1 for the majority of the session, his only rival seemed to be Stoffel Vandoorne who was aiming for his seventh pole position in a row.

The first group’s session ended with Daniel de Jong hitting the wall at Mirabeau, and Zoel Amberg experiencing a heavy hit on the exit of Tabac corner.

When Group B took to the track the rain had eased and the tarmac was starting to dry, however all 13 cars stuck to the wet tyre. Rossi topped the session early and bettered his time halfway through the session, dipping under the 1m40s.

Arthur Pic, who was quickest in the practice session, looked to challenge Rossi’s time on a drying track, but could only manage P2, two-tenths off the American’s benchmark.

Sergey Sirotkin was another driver who looked to be in contention for a front row start, however once Rossi registered his final lap, Sirotkin found himself over a second off the pace in third.

Pos  Driver Team Time
1 Alexander Rossi Racing Engineering 1m37.019s
2 Raffaele Marciello Trident 1m40.357s
3 Arthur Pic Campos Racing 1m37.617s
4 Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1m41.124s
5 Sergey Sirotkin Rapax 1m38.391s
6 Julián Leal Carlin 1m41.655s
7 Nick Yelloly Hilmer Motorsport 1m38.618s
8 Jordan King Racing Engineering 1m41.895s
9 Sergio Canamasas MP Motorsport 1m38.691s
10 Daniël de Jong MP Motorsport 1m42.150s
11 Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 1m39.020s
12 Pierre Gasly DAMS 1m42.248s
13 Artem Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 1m39.073s
14 Richie Stanaway Status Grand Prix 1m42.425s
15 André Negrão Arden International 1m39.142s
16 Zoël Amberg Lazarus 1m42.539s
17 Alex Lynn DAMS 1m39.186s
18 Mitchell Evans RUSSIAN TIME 1m42.804s
19 Marco Sørensen Carlin 1m39.532s
20 Rene Binder Trident 1m39.539s
21 Johnny Cecotto Jr. Hilmer Motorsport 1m43.386s
22 Nathanaël Berthon Lazarus 1m40.101s
23 Rio Haryanto Campos Racing 1m42.913s
24 Norman Nato Arden International 1m44.286s
25 Marlon Stöckinger Status Grand Prix 1m41.503s
26 Robert Visoiu Rapax 1m44.475s


Image via GP2 Series Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)