McLaren protégé Stoffel Vandoorne has continued his unbeaten streak in the GP2 Feature Races by claiming his fourth win in a row, cruising to an 11-second victory ahead of Rapax’s Sergey Sirotkin. 

Alex Lynn denied Vandoorne’s teammate Nobuharu Matsushita his first GP2 podium, as he passed the ART driver with two laps remaining for third position.

Most of the top ten qualifiers opted to start the race on the quicker Super Soft tyre, with Pierre Gasly, Rio Haryanto, Artem Markelov and Lynn choosing the alternate strategy of starting on the Medium compound tyre to run a longer stint first.

Alexander Rossi took advantage of drivers starting on the Medium tyre, as he enjoyed a quick getaway from twelfth position on his Super Softs to end the first lap six positions ahead.

Vandoorne, Sirotkin, Lynn

Hilmer’s Nick Yelloly was another driver who jumped off the starting line, moving from seventh to fourth on the opening lap.

On the second lap of the race, the virtual safety car was brought out due to debris from Gasly’s front wing left on the main straight. Both Yelloly and Raffaele Marciello were caught out at the restart of the race and lost positions, the latter dropping from fifth to eighth.

Vandoorne, Yelloly and Arthur Pic were the first of the Super Soft runners to pit on lap six. Vandoorne had trouble with one of his rear tyres costing him time in the pits; this opened up a window for Sirotkin and Rossi to pass Vandoorne with quicker pit stops of their own.

Sirotkin, Rossi and Matsushita pitted a lap after Vandoorne and all came out in front of the Belgian, but it wasn’t long before Vandoorne put his warmer tyres to good use, easily disposing of his teammate and Rossi before passing Sirotkin a lap later.

Gasly, Lynn and Markelov were the new leaders of the race after starting on the Medium compound tyre. Lynn’s pace was far better than leader Gasly’s, who was still struggling for downforce after he lost part of his front wing. Eventually, Lynn passed his teammate, set a fastest lap of the race once in clean air, and quickly pulled a five-second buffer to Gasly, while Markelov snuck passed the DAMS driver for second.

Markelov was the first of the front-running drivers to pit for a set of Super Softs on Lap 31, coming out 16 seconds behind Vandoorne. Lynn pitted two laps later and rejoined the race behind Rossi and Matsushita.

By this point Rossi had used all the grip in his tyres in his fight through the field and Matsushita took third from him with five laps left to run. The Racing Engineering driver fell to sixth as Markelov also passed him on a fresh set of Super Softs as well.

Nick Yelloly finished the race in eighth and will start tomorrow’s Sprint Race in pole position.

2015 GP2 Series Austria – Feature Race Final Classification (40 laps)
Driver Team / Entry Laps Result
1. Stoffel Vandoorne be ART Grand Prix 40 53:42.694
2. Sergey Sirotkin ru Rapax 40 + 11.788
3. Alex Lynn uk DAMS 40 + 15.318
4. Nobuharu Matsushita jp ART Grand Prix 40 + 15.849
5. Artem Markelov ru Russian Time 40 + 19.420
6. Alexander Rossi us Racing Engineering 40 + 21.154
7. Rio Haryanto id Campos Racing 40 + 22.583
8. Nick Yelloly uk Hilmer Motorsport 40 + 26.697
9. Arthur Pic fr Campos Racing 40 + 35.069
10. Mitch Evans nz Russian Time 40 + 38.649
11. Robert Vișoiu ro Rapax 40 + 42.068
12. Jordan King uk Racing Engineering 40 + 42.569
13. Pierre Gasly fr DAMS 40 + 44.489
14. Julián Leal co Carlin 40 + 49.600
15. Raffaele Marciello it Trident 40 + 50.336
16. André Negrão br Arden International 40 + 50.729
17. René Binder at Trident 40 + 54.619
18. Marco Sørenson dk Carlin 40 + 55.933
19. Marlon Stöckinger ph Status Grand Prix 40 + 59.209
20. Norman Nato fr Arden International 40 + 59.505
21. Daniël de Jong nl MP Motorsport 40 + 1:02.603
22. Simon Trummer ch Hilmer Motorsport 40 + 1:15.237
23. Richie Stanaway nz Status Grand Prix 39 1 lap behind
Not Classified Team / Entry Laps Result
DNF. Nathanaël Berthon fr Daiko Team Lazarus 1 Accident
WD. Zoël Amberg ch Daiko Team Lazarus unwell

Images via GP2 Series Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)