Rapax’s Sergey Sirotkin claimed his first pole position in the GP2 Series, beating championship leader Stoffel Vandoorne by just under two-tenths of a second.

Vandoorne led for most of the session, setting the fastest lap to occupy provision pole early on in the session, while Sirotkin was within a tenth of a second the entire time.

Richie Stanaway and Alexander Rossi will line up third and fourth on the grid respectively. Both drivers struggled to get a clean lap time in, with one of Rossi’s flyers interrupted by a yellow flag.

Practice pacesetter Rio Haryanto spent half of the qualifying session stuck in the pits due to a mechanical problem. He joined in on the action with 15 minutes left to run and immediately set a quick time, slotting him in sixth position. However, that was the best lap he could manage as he couldn’t get his tyres up to temperature with limited running which saw him drop to fifteenth.

Jon Lancaster was another driver experiencing issues. An engine problem saw his return to the series stifled; he was forced to watch qualifying from the support paddock and will start the Feature Race from the pit lane.

On a positive note, Oliver Rowland qualified in the top ten on his debut in the series, ending the session ninth and even running as high as third. His teammate Daniel de Jong was much further down the grid in 22nd in the other MP Motorsport car.

The Feature Race takes place at 14:40 local time (GMT +1).

2015 GP2 Series Britain – Qualifying Results
Driver Team / Entry Time Gap
1. Sergey Sirotkin ru Rapax 1:39.949
2. Stoffel Vandoorne be ART Grand Prix 1:40.134 + 0.185
3. Richie Stanaway nz Status Grand Prix 1:40.378 + 0.429
4. Alexander Rossi us Racing Engineering 1:40.419 + 0.470
5. Arthur Pic fr Campos Racing 1:40.434 + 0.485
6. Pierre Gasly fr DAMS 1:40.498 + 0.549
7. Nobuharu Matsushita jp ART Grand Prix 1:40.520 + 0.571
8. Raffaele Marciello it Trident 1:40.533 + 0.584
9. Oliver Rowland uk MP Motorsport 1:40.537 + 0.588
10. Julián Leal co Carlin 1:40.547 + 0.598
11. Nick Yelloly uk Hilmer Motorsport 1:40.697 + 0.748
12. Alex Lynn uk DAMS 1:40.708 + 0.759
13. Jordan King uk Racing Engineering 1:40.765 + 0.816
14. Sergio Canamasas es Daiko Team Lazarus 1:40.789 + 0.840
15. Rio Haryanto id Campos Racing 1:40.793 + 0.844
16. André Negrão br Arden International 1:41.039 + 1.090
17. Nathanaël Berthon fr Daiko Team Lazarus 1:41.046 + 1.097
18. Johnny Cecotto Jr ve Carlin 1:41.064 + 1.115
19. Robert Vișoiu* ro Rapax 1:41.118 + 1.169
20. Norman Nato fr Arden International 1:41.252 + 1.303
21. Mitch Evans nz Russian Time 1:41.275 + 1.326
22. Daniël de Jong nl MP Motorsport 1:41.542 + 1.593
23. René Binder at Trident 1:41.762 + 1.813
24. Marlon Stöckinger ph Status Grand Prix 1:41.802 + 1.853
25. Artem Markelov ru Russian Time 1:41.805 + 1.856
DNQ. Jon Lancaster uk Hilmer Motorsport no time

* Robert Vișoiu was awarded a three-place grid penalty for the Feature Race after being ruled to have impeded Nick Yelloly during qualifying.

Images via GP2 Series Media

Clarkson, Hammond & May - 2015 Australian TourCLICK HERE to find out how you can sponsor a race weekend on RF1.

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)