After a thrilling MAVTV 500 which saw Rahal Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal snap up his first IndyCar victory of the season, Round 12 of the Verizon IndyCar Series heads to ‘The Mile’ oval in Milwaukee, Wisconsin this weekend for the ABC Supply Wisconsin 250.

The Circuit

2015 IndyCar Series ABC Supply Wisconsin 250
Date 11-12 July 2015 Lap Length 1.00 mi / 1.609km
Free Practice Session 1 Sat 17:00-18:15 Free Practice Session 2 Sun 09:15-10:00
Qualifying Sun 12:30-13:30 Race (250 laps) Sat 16:35-18:45

Session times quoted in Central Daylight Time (GMT – 05:00)

The Milwaukee Mile is a 1-mile oval located on the grounds of Wisconsin State Park in West Allis, Wisconsin, a suburb in the west of Milwaukee. Paved in 1954, it was originally a dirt track and in addition to the asphalt-paved oval, there is a 1.8 mile (2.9-kilometre) asphalt-paved road circuit located in the infield.

The Milwaukee Mile’s premier distinction is that it’s is the oldest operating motor speedway in the world, hosting at least one motor race every year since its opening in 1903.

Rewind to 2014

Team Penske’s Will Power who started on pole dominated the race, leading 229 of 250 laps en route to victory, his first at the venue.

With heavy traffic looking to spoil the point’s leader’s weekend over the final few laps, Power was able to keep a two-second gap over teammate Juan Pablo Montoya, who finished runner-up.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Tony Kanaan, among the leaders most of the afternoon, finished third and continued his winless streak for the season. Power left with a 39-point advantage over fellow teammate Hélio Castroneves in the championship standings with two races of the season remaining.

Will Power, Team Penske Chevrolet - 2014 ABC Supply Wisconsin 250

Facts and Stats at the Milwaukee Mile

  • The Wisconsin 250 will be the fourth of six oval races on the 2015 IndyCar Series schedule. This year is yet to deliver a repeat winner on the oval tracks: Juan Pablo Montoya won the Indianapolis 500 on May 24; Scott Dixon won the Firestone 600 at Texas Motor Speedway on June 6; and Graham Rahal won the MAVTV 500 at Auto Club Speedway on June 27.
  • Ryan Hunter-Reay and Tony Kanaan are the only active drivers in the field to win at The Milwaukee Mile more than once. Hunter-Reay has three wins (2004 in Champ Car, 2012 and 2013 in IndyCars), while Kanaan won back-to-back IndyCar races here in 2006-2007. Of this year’s other entrants, past winners include Will Power (2014), Scott Dixon (2009), Ryan Briscoe (2008), Sébastien Bourdais (2006 in Champ Cars) and Juan Pablo Montoya (2000). Rodger Ward is the all-time Milwaukee winner with a record seven victories between 1957-1963.
  • Of the current teams, it’s no surprise to see Team Penske at the top of the pile at ‘The Mile’ with eight wins here. Andretti Autosports (5), Chip Ganassi Racing (4), Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing and AJ Foyt Racing (2 apiece) are the other multiple winning teams.
  • Hélio Castroneves has the best qualifying record here, with three pole positions to his credit (1999, 2006, 2007). Marco Andretti (2008, 2013), Will Power (2014), Ryan Briscoe (2009), Sébastien Bourdais (2006 in Champ Cars), Ryan Hunter-Reay (2004 in Champ Cars) and Juan Pablo Montoya (2000) have also claimed pole positions here.

The Entry List and Form Guide

After an exciting MAVTV 500 with wheel to wheel, four car wide pack racing and a race record of 80 lead changes delivering by far the most entertaining race of the season, this weekend’s Milwaukee Mile could spell another close – albeit lower speed – race on the second-shortest oval of the calendar.

This event, and next weekend’s round at the 0.875-mile Iowa Speedway, will be the only rounds where the field will run their street circuit aero kits, such are the high-downforce demands of both short-track ovals.

The IndyCar field remains unchanged from the preceding round, with the only difference being the addition of a twenty-fourth car to the field. Former Grand Prix driver and Dale Coyne Racing stalwart Justin Wilson will drive a fourth Andretti Autosport entry for the remainder of the season, encompassing this race and the following four events at Iowa Speedway, Mid-Ohio, Pocono Raceway and Sonoma Raceway.

Juan Pablo Montoya comes into the this weekend’s event with a 46-point advantage over reigning IndyCar Series champion and Team Penske teammate Power (407-361).

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Dixon is third on 358 points, ahead of last round winner Rahal, who sits fourth and 24 points back on 334 points. Team Penske’s Castroneves rounds out the top five on 330 points.

The race weekend kicks off Saturday July 11 with two practice sessions qualifying and the 250-lap race packed into a condensed two-day schedule.

Image via IndyCar Series

The following two tabs change content below.

Michael Terminello

Journalist at MotorsportM8