Williams development driver Alex Lynn has won his first race in the GP2 Series ahead of team-mate Pierre Gasly and Rapax’s Sergey Sirotkin.

Starting on pole position, Lynn made the perfect getaway ahead of Stoffel Vandoorne, who bogged down on the start and dropped to fifth position.

Gasly made a brilliant start, jumping from fifth to second, while Arthur Pic and Raffaele Marciello spent the opening two laps fighting each other for third, with Marciello eventually getting the job done on Pic without the aid of DRS.

The race was interrupted during the second lap after Sergio Canamasas came into contact with Nicolas Latifi at the exit of the Turn 7 chicane, sending the Hilmer driver into the barrier at Turn 8.

Lynn Gasly Sirotkin

The Safety Car was brought out and lapped two laps of the circuit before returning to the pits. Lynn pulled a gap of almost a second from Gasly after the race resumed and maintained it until it was time for their pitstops.

Vandoorne was the first to pit on lap seven as he started the race on the Soft tyre as opposed to Lynn and Gasly who started on the Medium.

The Belgian re-joined the track with clear air but received a five-second time penalty for an unsafe release. Alexander Rossi pitted a lap later and was able to clear Arthur Pic in the pits.

Vandoorne was tasked with reducing as much of the gap as possible to Lynn, as the DAMS driver still needed to make his pitstop. Completing a pitstop took between 32-35 seconds and Lynn’s gap to Vandoorne was 24 when he made his pitstop on Lap 23, which meant he would have to put the Soft tyre to good use and reduce the gap back to Vandoorne.

Lynn returned to the track behind Rossi and Pic, but was able to dispose of the two drivers with ease as he had far better grip on the softer compound tyre. The Briton then successfully challenged Rio Haryanto for second place on Lap 31 of the race, securing his maiden Feature Race victory on the timing screens.

However, that wasn’t enough for Lynn as he wanted victory on the track as well and passed Vandoorne for the lead of the race with four laps left to run. Gasly soon followed by making a brave pass on Haryanto at Turn Seven then demoting Vandoorne to take second place.

Haryanto was then caught sleeping when he was lunged at on the penultimate corner by Sirotkin, who locked up and took off the Campos driver’s front wing with him to secure third position.

2015 GP2 Series Hungary – Feature Race Final Classification (37 laps)
Driver Team / Entry Laps Result
1. Alex Lynn uk DAMS 37 1:00:10.708
2. Pierre Gasly fr DAMS 37 + 3.707
3. Sergey Sirotkin ru Rapax 37 + 9.052
4. Rio Haryanto id Campos Racing 37 + 9.639
5. Stoffel Vandoorne be ART Grand Prix 37 + 11.621
6. Jordan King uk Racing Engineering 37 + 12.862
7. Raffaele Marciello it Trident 37 + 16.220
8. Nobuharu Matsushita jp ART Grand Prix 37 + 16.785
9. Robert Vișoiu ro Rapax 37 + 17.460
10. Daniël de Jong nl MP Motorsport 37 + 34.138
11. Norman Nato fr Arden International 37 + 36.874
12. Alexander Rossi us Racing Engineering 37 + 42.242
13. Arthur Pic fr Campos Racing 37 + 43.345
14. Nathanaël Berthon fr Daiko Team Lazarus 37 + 46.408
15. Nicholas Latifi ca MP Motorsport 37 + 51.732
16. Julián Leal co Carlin 37 + 52.010
17. Mitch Evans nz Russian Time 37 + 56.245
18. Sean Galeal id Carlin 37 + 57.251
19. Marlon Stöckinger ph Status Grand Prix 37 + 1:06.136
20. André Negrão br Arden International 37 + 1:06.681
21. Richie Stanaway nz Status Grand Prix 36 1 lap behind
22. Artem Markelov ru Russian Time 36 1 lap behind
23. René Binder at Trident 33 4 laps behind
Not Classified Team / Entry Laps Result
DNF. Nick Yelloly uk Hilmer Motorsport 31 Mechanical
DNF. Sergio Canamasas es Hilmer Motorsport 1 Collision
WD. Zoël Amberg ch Daiko Team Lazarus unwell

Images via GP2 Series Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)