Mark Winterbottom has notched up four wins in a row to further extend his lead in the V8 Supercars Championship standings with victory in Saturday’s second sprint race at Queensland Raceway.

The Prodrive Racing Australia powered past pole-sitter Craig Lowndes’ Holden on the opening lap of the 20-lap race when the Red Bull Racing driver ran fractionally wide at Turn 2. It was all the invitation that Winterbottom needed, and he managed to keep Lowndes at bay to extend his points lead over the series veteran to a healthy 265 points.

Winterbottom’s stablemate David Reynolds held third place early on in his Bottle-O Racing Ford, but let Chaz Mostert onto the final podium spot before the chequered flag.

Reynolds narrowly finished ahead of defending series champion Jamie Whincup, who had made a great start from eighth to fight his way up to fifth position.

Todd Kelly crossed the line in sixth position for Nissan Motorsport with Will Davison (Erebus Motorsport) in seventh and James Courtney (Holden Racing Team) in eighth.

Scott McLaughlin finished ninth, and was left to rue a sluggish getaway and an off-track moment on the opening lap. He finished ahead of DJR Team Penske Ford driver Scott Pye.

Shane van Gisbergen notched up his first DNF of the season when his TEKNO Holden was struck with transmission issued while lining up on the grid.

Volvo driver Scott McLaughlin started fourth but made a slow getaway and ran wide in first couple of corners, dropping down to finish ninth ahead of Scott Pye.

Shane Van Gisbergen had his first retirement since 2013 after suffering from transmission issues while lining up on the grid. His car was left stranded on the grid – thankfully without being hit by those starting behind – and there was a further retirement of Nick Percat, whose LDM Holden was hit by Lee Holdsworth on the opening lap of the race at Turn 3.

The Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint round concludes on Sunday with a 200-kilometre race.

2015 V8 Supercars Championship Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint – Race 19 Top-10 Finishers (20 laps)
Pos Driver Team / Entry Time
1. Mark Winterbottom Prodrive Racing 25:20.006
3. Craig Lowndes Red Bull Racing / Triple 8 + 0.884
5. Chaz Mostert Prodrive Racing + 3.776
7. David Reynolds The Bottle-O Racing Team + 4.802
8. Jamie Whincup Red Bull Racing / Triple 8 + 5.169
6. Todd Kelly Nissan Motorsport + 8.129
9. Will Davison Erebus Motorsport V8 + 8.554
4. James Courtney Holden Racing Team + 9.469
2. Scott McLaughlin Polestar GRM Volvo + 10.476
10. Scott Pye DJR Team Penske + 12.474

Image via V8 Supercars Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.