Chaz Mostert has continued Prodrive Racing’s recent dominance of the V8 Supercars Championship by claiming his third victory of the season in the final race of the Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint round at Queensland Raceway.

The youngster started from pole position and controlled proceedings from there on to give the team a clean sweep of victories over the weekend – teammate and championship leader Mark Winterbottom won Saturday’s two sprint races.

Second place went to Craig Lowndes, who started in third place and moved ahead of Winterbottom during the race; the points’ leader completed the podium to consolidate his advantage in the Drivers’ Championship standings.

Continuing the Prodrive Racing stable’s near-faultless weekend was David Reynolds, who finished fourth in the Bottle-O Racing branded Ford Falcon FG X. He finished ahead of Holden Racing Team duo Garth Tander and James Courtney, who both made up a number of places after qualifying in the midfield.

Will Davison enjoyed a strong race in his Erebus Motorsport Mercedes en route to finishing in seventh place. He finished ahead of reigning champion Jamie Whincup, who lost ground thanks to a faulty wheel gun during a pit stop.

Brad Jones Racing driver Jason Bright and Nissan Motorsport’s James Moffat completed the top ten.

The race ran without the interruption of a Safety Car period, with the only retiree being Todd Kelly, whose Nissan blew its engine – much to his clear frustration over the pit-to-car radio – with three laps of the race to run.

The V8 Supercars Championship continues on August 21-23 with the Sydney Motorsport Park SuperSprint.

2015 V8 Supercars Championship Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint – Race 20 Top-10 Finishers (65 laps)
Pos Driver Team / Entry Time
1. Mark Winterbottom Prodrive Racing 25:20.006
2. Craig Lowndes Red Bull Racing / Triple 8 + 0.884
3. Chaz Mostert Prodrive Racing + 3.776
4. David Reynolds The Bottle-O Racing Team + 4.802
5. Jamie Whincup Red Bull Racing / Triple 8 + 5.169
6. Todd Kelly Nissan Motorsport + 8.129
7. Will Davison Erebus Motorsport V8 + 8.554
8. James Courtney Holden Racing Team + 9.469
9. Scott McLaughlin Polestar GRM Volvo + 10.476
10. Scott Pye DJR Team Penske + 12.474

Image via V8 Supercars Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.