Karl Reindler has secured the last open co-driver seat for the three upcoming Pirtek Enduro Cup rounds of the V8 Supercars Championship.

The 30-year-old West Australian landed the drive with the small privateer outfit as Tim Blanchard’s co-driver after getting the nod ahead of European drivers Jeroen Bleekemolen and Laurens Vanthoor.

The 2004 Australian F3 champion, Reindler subsequently went on to race in its British version before landing a drive with Team Australia in the A1 Grand Prix championship where he peaked with a podium finish at the Beijing street circuit.

He returned to Australia in 2008 and competed a full season in the second-tier Fujitsu V8 Supercar Series, and made his top-level debut as Jason Bright’s co-driver in the Bathurst 1000 the next year. The pair’s eleventh-placed finish marked Reindler’s best result at the Mt Panorama circuit.

He joined the V8 Supercars Championship on a full-time basis in 2010, driving a Brad Jones Racing customer Holden Commodore under the banner of Britek Motorsport. He finished 27th out of 28 full-time drivers in the standings.

Kept on for another year, Reindler showed improvement and peaked with a top-six qualifying result at the opening leg of his home round at Barbagallo Raceway. He was involved in a major start-line accident with Steve Owen in Sunday’s race, where he was rammed from behind by Owen after having stalled his car on the grid. The accident ruptured Reindler’s fuel tank and his car exploded into a fireball; he was lucky to escape with just an overnight stint in hospital to treat minor burns to his hands and face.

The accident seemed to have rattled him, and he managed just one other top-ten finish over the remainder of the year, finishing 25th in the standings.

He moved to the Kelly Racing stable in 2012 as teammate to Greg Murphy. It was another disappointing year with a solitary top-ten finish in the finale at Sydney Olympic Park.

Not surprisingly, he was not able to secure a full-time drive in 2013, but he did co-drive with Nissan’s Rick Kelly in the Enduro Cup rounds.

The duo will share Blanchard’s #3 CoolDrive Holden VF Commodore at the Sandown 500, Bathurst 1000 and Gold Coast 600 rounds; the first event kicks off on the weekend of 12-13 September.

2015 V8 Supercars Championship – Pirtek Enduro Cup Driver Pairings
# Team / Entry Lead Driver Co-Driver
1. Triple Eight Race Engineering Jamie Whincup Paul Dumbrell
2. Red Bull Racing Australia Garth Tander Warren Luff
3. Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Tim Blanchard Karl Reindler
4. Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Jack Le Brocq
5. Prodrive Racing Australia Mark Winterbottom Steve Owen
6. Prodrive Racing Australia Chaz Mostert Cameron Waters
7. Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Alex Buncombe
8. Brad Jones Racing Jason Bright Andrew Jones
9. Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Alex Davison
14. Brad Jones Racing Fabian Coulthard Luke Youlden
15. Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly David Russell
17. DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Marcos Ambrose
18. Charlie Schwerkolt Racing Lee Holdsworth Sébastien Bourdais
21. Brad Jones Racing Dale Wood Macauley Jones
22. Holden Racing Team James Courtney Jack Perkins
23. Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Dean Fiore
33. Volvo Polestar Racing Scott McLaughlin Alexandre Premat
34. Volvo Polestar Racing David Wall Chris Pither
47. Walkinshaw Racing Tim Slade Tony D’Alberto
55. Rod Nash Racing David Reynolds Dean Canto
97. TEKNO Autosports Shane van Gisbergen Jonathon Webb
99. Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Taz Douglas
111. Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ant Pedersen
222. Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Nick Percat Oliver Gavin
888. Triple Eight Race Engineering Craig Lowndes Steven Richards

Image via Motorsport.com

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.