Scott McLaughlin has triumphed over the rapid Prodrive Racing Fords to secure pole position for Sunday’s 200-kilometre Feature Race at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The twenty-minute qualifying was incredibly closely-fought, with the fastest three qualifiers – McLaughlin, David Reynolds and Chaz Mostert – covered by just two-hundredths of a second.

Despite overnight showers and the threat of heavy rain later in the day when the race is scheduled to start, qualifying ran in dry conditions, although ambient and track temperatures were well down compared to Saturday.

The grid order came down to a single run on the Hard-compound Dunlop tyres in the final minutes of play; Reynolds initially held provisional pole position over Mostert before McLaughlin came along to just edge them out.

Shane van Gisbergen (TEKNO Holden), Scott Pye (DJR Team Penske Ford), Lee Holdsworth (Walkinshaw Holden) and Andre Heimgartner (Super Black Racing Ford) claimed positions fourth through seventh.

Saturday’s second Sprint Race winner Jamie Whincup (Red Bull Racing Holden), James Moffat (Nissan) and Fabian Coulthard (BJR Holden) completed the top ten.

Worryingly, the only one of the five Ford runners not to qualify inside the top-ten was championship leader Mark Winterbottom, who couldn’t string any of his three timed laps together to qualify any better than twelfth.

One of his chief championship rivals, Craig Lowndes, fared even worse and will start from 19th place.

Sunday’s 52-lap race starts at 2:05pm local time (GMT +10).

2015 V8 Supercars Sydney Motorsport Park SuperSprint – Race 23 Qualifying Top-10
Pos Driver Team / Entry Time
1. Scott McLaughlin Polestar GRM Volvo 1:30.1669
2. David Reynolds The Bottle-O Racing Team + 0.0165
3. Chaz Mostert Prodrive Racing Australia + 0.0199
4. Shane van Gisbergen TEKNO Autosports + 0.0572
5. Scott Pye DJR Team Penske + 0.0667
6. Lee Holdsworth Walkinshaw Performance + 0.0744
7. Andre Heimgartner Super Black Racing + 0.0867
8. Jamie Whincup Red Bull Racing / Triple 8 + 0.1230
9. James Moffat Nissan Motorsport + 0.2051
10. Fabian Coulthard Brad Jones Racing + 0.2532

Image via V8 Supercars

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.