Chaz Mostert has continued the Prodrive Racing team’s dominance of qualifying by leading another front-row lockout for Saturday’s first heat race for the co-drivers at the Sandown 500.

The championship contender responded with a late flying lap that toppled teammate and series leader Mark Winterbottom from top spot. Winterbottom responded with an improved lap time of his own, but ultimately fell just under two-tenths of a second short of claiming pole position.

It will be up to their respective co-drivers, Cameron Waters and Steve Owen, to ensure they keep the cars in one piece when Mostert and Winterbottom take back the controls later in the day.

The second row of the grid was claimed by reigning champion Jamie Whincup and an impressive Lee Holdsworth; the pair will hand their cars over to co-drivers Paul Dumbrell and Sébastien Bourdais for the first of the day’s two heat races that will ultimately determine the grid order for Sunday’s 500-kilometre race.

David Reynolds, Fabian Coulthard, Shane van Gisbergen, Scott Pye, Scott McLaughlin and Garth Tander completed the top 10.

Despite a strong session for three of the four Prodrive-run entries, Andre Heimgartner struggled to a lowly 23rd after suffering persistent brake problems in his Super Black Racing Ford.

The first Qualifying Heat Race for the co-drivers takes place over 20 laps from 2:00pm local time (GMT +10). The results of that race will set the starting grid for the day’s second heat race in which the main drivers will compete. The results of the second race will finalise the grid for Sunday’s Sandown 500.

2015 V8 Supercars Wilson Security Sandown 500 – Preliminary Qualifying Top-10
Pos Driver Team / Entry Time
1. Chaz Mostert Prodrive Racing Australia 1:08.7165
2. Mark Winterbottom Prodrive Racing Australia + 0.1904
3. Jamie Whincup Red Bull Racing / Triple 8 + 0.3020
4. Lee Holdsworth Walkinshaw Performance + 0.3035
5. David Reynolds The Bottle-O Racing Team + 0.3477
6. Fabian Coulthard Brad Jones Racing + 0.3893
7. Shane van Gisbergen TEKNO Autosports + 0.3967
8. Scott Pye DJR Team Penske + 0.4056
9. Scott McLaughlin Polestar GRM Volvo + 0.4652
10. Garth Tander Holden Racing Team + 0.5866

Image via V8 Supercars

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.