Dutch racer Robin Frijns has completed the Amlin Andretti team’s driving line-up for the 2015-16 Formula E Championship season where he will partner Simona de Silvestro.

Frijns, formerly a test driver with the Sauber and Caterham F1 teams, impressed the American outfit with just one day of pre-season testing at Donington Park.

“He’s only done one test for us, but he did a really good job and he has a great attitude,” team owner Michael Andretti said.

“We feel that with him and Simona, we have a strong team put together and are ready for season two.”

“It is an honour to be part of the Andretti family and to drive for them in Formula E,” Frijns said of his appointment.

“It’s a new championship and a completely new challenge for me. The way of driving and saving energy is going to be tough but fun and I’m really looking forward to the first race in Beijing in a few weeks.”

The 24-year-old comes with an impressive record across a variety of motorsport championships. He made his open-wheel debut in 2009 in the Formula BMW Europe championship, finishing third overall in the championship standings. He moved to Formula Renault 2.0 and won the Eurocup title in 2011, before graduating to the senior Formula Renault 3.5 Series and became the first driver since Robert Kubica to win the title in his debut season.

Despite his record and being impressive in the end-of-season Young Drivers’ Formula 1 test at Abu Dhabi, Frijns’ lack of funding meant he failed to secure a race seat in Formula 1 for 2013. He served a limited role as Sauber’s test driver that year and only managed a part-season campaign in the GP2 Series, moving on to the Caterham F1 squad in 2014.

Stéphane Richelmi, Robin Frijns, Jean-Karl Vernay - 2015 Blancpain Endurance Championship

The highly-rated Frijns finished runner-up in the 2015 Blancpain Sprint Series championship standing.

That role ended when the team shut down and Frijns since moved into sports car racing, forming part of Team WRT’s line-up in the  Blancpain Sprint Series, partnering with Laurens Vanthoor in one of the outfit’s Audi R8 LMS Ultra cars. Frijns finished second overall in the Drivers’ Championship standings in his first ever year of closed-cockpit racing.

2015-16 FIA Formula E World Championship – Teams & Drivers
Team Driver 1 Driver 2
NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team Nelson Piquet Jr Oliver Turvey
DS Virgin Racing Formula E Team Sam Bird Jean-Eric Vergne
Venturi Formula E Team Stéphane Sarrazin Jacques Villeneuve
Dragon Racing Loïc Duval Jérôme d’Ambrosio
Renault e.Dams Nicolas Prost Sébastien Buemi
Trulli Formula E Team Vitantonio Liuzzi Salvador Durán
ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport Lucas di Grassi Daniel Abt
Mahindra Racing Formula E Team Bruno Senna Nick Heidfeld
Amlin Andretti Formula E Robin Frijns Andretti AETC-01
Team Aguri TBA   TBA  

Images via FIA Formula E and Motorsport.com

The following two tabs change content below.

Mitch Timms

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Professional motorsport engineer and all-round tech head.