David Reynolds and co-driver Dean Canto will start Sunday’s SuperCheap Auto Bathurst 1000 from pole position after posting the fastest time in Saturday’s Top-10 Shootout session at Mount Panorama.

After the preceding preliminary qualifying session was hit with rain, the conditions didn’t improve later in the day for the ten fastest qualifiers’ one-lap runs.

James Moffat was first out in his Nissan Altima, struggling with oversteer on acceleration to post a provisional 2:30.008 which was ultimately good enough for the fifth-fastest time.

Lee Holdsworth and then David Reynolds were next out, with each managing to go quicker with spectacular demonstrations of car control.

Scott McLaughlin was the fourth man out in his Polestar Volvo, with the Kiwi keeping things tidy but unable to eclipse Reynolds’ time. Jason Bright lapped eight-tenths of a second slower than McLaughlin to go third-fastest in his Brad Jones Racing Holden.

At that point, the heavens really opened again, and that left the likes of Scott Pye, Jamie Whincup and Tim Slade struggling to find any grip and lapping well off the pace.

The exception to the final runners was Shane van Gisbergem – second-fastest in provisional qualifying – who threw his TEKNO Autosports Holden around the circuit in typically flamboyant fashion. He clocked a 2:30.845 to go sixth-fastest in a performance that will earn plenty of praise.

Last man out was the fastest provisional qualifier Fabian Coulthard, but he didn’t stand a chance at posting a representative time and will start from ninth place.

The end result was pole position – for the first time at Mount Panorama – for Reynolds, who freely admitted that he had perhaps the best of the track conditions. It was a welcome result for the Bottle-O Racing driver, who hit the headlines for all the wrong reasons earlier this week when he was fined $25,000 for a disgusting sexist slur against his female Prodrive Racing stablemates Simona de Silvestro and Renee Gracie.

Sunday’s 161-lap race starts at 11:00am local time (GMT +11).

2015 V8 Supercars SuperCheap Auto Bathurst 1000 – Top-10 Qualifying Shootout Results
Pos Driver / Co-Driver Team / Entry Time
1. David Reynolds / Dean Canto The Bottle-O Racing Team 2:27.820
2. Scott McLaughlin / Alexandre Premat Polestar GRM Volvo 2:28.974
3. Jason Bright / Andrew Jones Brad Jones Racing 2:29.700
4. Lee Holdsworth / Sébastien Bourdais Walkinshaw Performance 2:29.813
5. James Moffat / Taz Douglas Nissan Motorsport 2:30.008
6. Shane van Gisbergen / Jonathon Webb TEKNO Autosports 2:30.845
7. Scott Pye / Marcos Ambrose DJR Team Penske 2:31.631
8. Jamie Whincup / Paul Dumbrell Red Bull Racing / Triple 8 2:32.053
9. Fabian Coulthard / Luke Youlden Brad Jones Racing 2:32.124
10. Tim Slade / Tony D’Alberto Walkinshaw Performance 2:34.711

Image via V8 Supercars

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.