Team Aguri has finally confirmed the driver pairing it will enter at the 2015-16 FIA Formula E Championship season’s opening round in Beijing. GP2 Series regular Nathanaël Berthon will make his championship debut season alongside Portuguese driver António Félix da Costa.

Twenty-six-year-old Berthon will join Félix da Costa on the grid for the series’ second season, which kicks off next weekend around the Chinese capital’s Olympic Green street circuit.

Previously known as Amlin Aguri, the Japanese team – founded by former Formula 1 driver Aguri Suzuki – finished sixth in the Teams’ Championship standings during the inaugural 2014-15 Formula E season, with da Costa claiming victory at Buenos Aires.

Berthon has spent the past four years racing in the GP2 Series, achieving one race win and a further three podium finishes in 84 races to-date. The Frenchman is hopeful that the team’s solid pre-season testing sessions will serve as a foundation for a successful campaign in the second Formula E season.

“For me, it is a good new challenge and I think we can look forward to a very good season with the proven package that Aguri has worked on improving during the off-season,” he said.

“The attitude and mentality of Team Aguri very much matches mine and this was clear from the very start. Formula E is all about being a complete driver and tests you technically. This really appeals to me because with my experience in many disciplines I have a lot to call upon when it comes to strategies and efficiency.”

Nathanael Berthon

Berthon has spent the last four seasons competing in the GP2 Series with moderate success.

Da Costa, who finished eighth in the Drivers’ Championship standings despite missing out on three races due to clashing DTM commitments, was equally delighted to be retained for a second season.

“I am really happy to continue with Team Aguri and Formula E,” he added.

“This championship is earning its respect in the world of motorsport and I am honoured to be involved. The team is making big steps forward and I believe that we have the tools to fight hard and bring home some solid results.”

2015-16 FIA Formula E World Championship – Teams & Drivers
Team Driver 1 Driver 2
NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team Nelson Piquet Jr Oliver Turvey
DS Virgin Racing Formula E Team Sam Bird Jean-Éric Vergne
Venturi Formula E Team Stéphane Sarrazin Jacques Villeneuve
Dragon Racing Loïc Duval Jérôme d’Ambrosio
Renault e.Dams Nicolas Prost Sébastien Buemi
Trulli Formula E Team Vitantonio Liuzzi Salvador Durán
ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport Lucas di Grassi Daniel Abt
Mahindra Racing Formula E Team Bruno Senna Nick Heidfeld
Amlin Andretti Formula E Robin Frijns Simona de Silvestro
Team Aguri Antonio Felix da Costa Nathanaël Berthon

Images via FIA Formula E and GP2 Series Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Mitch Timms

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Professional motorsport engineer and all-round tech head.