Just weeks after successfully hosting the first Mexican Formula 1 Grand Prix in 23 years, Mexico City’s Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez has been announced as the location for the fifth round of the 2015-16 FIA Formula E Championship. The race will take place on Saturday March 12, 2016.

Having been listed as ‘Location TBA’ since the season two calendar was released, the Mexico City ePrix will fill the space held by the Miami race during the inaugural season, and keeps two Formula E events in North/Central America.

Using a shortened 2.14-kilometre layout for the Formula E Championship, the configuration is based around the facility’s oval and stadium sections and will feature 18 corners.

Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez - Formula E configuration

The Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez’s Formula E configuration featured 18 turns on its 2.14-kilometre layout

Starting on the same grid as the Formula 1 race, Turn 1 will be a ninety-degree right hand corner before instantly flicking left through Turn 2 and leading drivers on to Turn 3 – the first 180° turn of the oval course – before rejoining on what is the back straight of the Grand Prix circuit.

Turns 4, 5 and 6 are a right-left-right chicane half way along the back straight, followed by a right hand turn into the stadium section, as per the F1 circuit.

Formula E’s version of the stadium differs, however, in that the technical five-turn complex doubles back on itself and exits the stadium on to the back straight in the same place it enters, rather than passing between the grandstands at 90 degrees.

Out of the stadium, cars will complete the historic Peraltada in full – unlike the revised F1 circuit, which only uses the second half of the corner – however, for Formula E the banked 180° sweeper will be broken in half by another right-left-right chicane, at the point where the Grand Prix layout joins from the stadium. The second half of the Peraltada forms Turn 18 and opens out on to the pit straight.

As the first Mexican to compete in Formula E, Salvador Durán is certain the series will be greeted by a warm reception in Mexico City: “Formula E is a great championship that produces fantastic races among top-line drivers and I am sure the Mexican fans are going to love the races. The sound of the cars will be totally new to them, but I know that once they see the quality of the action they are going to be hooked.”

Mayor of Mexico City Miguel Angel Mancera is excited to welcome the series to the city, adding that the circuit is an ideal location for Formula E.

“Staging events such as Formula E is helping to make Mexico City one of the ‘sports capitals’ of the world. After the success of the Formula 1 Grand Prix, the addition of the Formula E race shows that the Hermanos Rodriguez racetrack is the perfect place for all kinds of racing events and is a key part of the work that the Mexico City government has undertaken to enhance our tourist attractions.”

For the series, racing in Mexico is a fantastic addition to the calendar, according to Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag:  “We are delighted to be taking Formula E to Mexico City. This is one of the world’s great cities, with a rich heritage and passion for motorsport. I’m confident the fans will create an amazing atmosphere and make the Mexico City ePrix one of the most memorable races of the season.”

After two rounds Lucas di Grassi (pictured top) leads the FIA Formula E Championship driver’s standings, while his ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport team also leading in the team’s points.

The next ePrix will be held in Punta del Este, Uruguay on Saturday December 19.

2015/6 FIA Formula E World Championship Season Calendar
Date Event Location
24 October 2015 cn Beijing ePrix Beijing Olympic Green Circuit, China
07 November 2015 my Putrajaya ePrix Putrajaya street circuit, Malaysia
19 December 2015 uy Punta del Este ePrix Punta del Este street circuit, Uruguay
06 February 2016 ar Buenos Aires ePrix Puerto Madero street circuit, Argentina
12 March 2016 mx Mexico City ePrix Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico
02 April 2016 us Long Beach ePrix Long Beach street circuit, United States
23 April 2016 fr Paris ePrix Les Invalides street circuit, Paris, France
21 May 2016 de Berlin ePrix Tempelhof Airport circuit, Germany
04 June 2016 ru Moscow ePrix Moscow street circuit, Russia
02 July 2016 uk London ePrix Battersea Park street circuit, London, United Kingdom
03 July 2016 uk London ePrix Battersea Park street circuit, London, United Kingdom

Image via FIA Formula E Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Mitch Timms

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Professional motorsport engineer and all-round tech head.