DAMS Racing’s Pierre Gasly will start tomorrow’s Feature Race in Abu Dhabi on pole position, ahead of GP2 Series champion Stoffel Vandoorne and Russian Time’s Mitch Evans. The result sees Gasly securing pole three times from the last four events.

Gasly flew to the top of the timing screens early in the session where no one was able to demote him, his 1:47.769 too great a challenge for the rest of the field.

Vandoorne’s best attempt at cracking the Frenchman’s time only resulted in him getting within a tenth of a second, although he was well clear of Evans by almost two-tenths of a second.

Artem Markelov was the sole driver to take to the circuit during the mid-session break to try and post a flying lap while there was no other car on the track. The Russian didn’t light up the timing screens on his way to twelfth position, however he was able to improve on his time to finish the session tenth-fastest.

Alex Lynn was on his way to a possible front row start; he set the fastest second sector time when he slotted his DAMS into second position but was called to the weigh bridge before he could respond to Vandoorne’s time, which had demoted him to third.

Once the Stewards had released him from the weigh bridge, it was too late to set a flying lap which meant his session was over and he had to watch another position slip by as Evans took P3.

Raffaele Marciello qualified an impressive fifth in the Trident ahead of Rio Haryanto and Alexander Rossi. Sergey Sirotkin was further down the order in twelfth position, which leaves him with extra work to do if he wants to secure third place in the championship from Haryanto.

2015 GP2 Series Abu Dhabi – Qualifying Results
Driver Team / Entry Time Gap
1. Pierre Gasly fr DAMS 1:47.769
2. Stoffel Vandoorne be ART Grand Prix 1:47.866 + 0.097
3. Mitch Evans nz Russian Time 1:48.014 + 0.245
4. Alex Lynn uk DAMS 1:48.049 + 0.280
5. Raffaele Marciello it Trident 1:48.419 + 0.650
6. Rio Haryanto id Campos Racing 1:48.429 + 0.660
7. Alexander Rossi us Racing Engineering 1:48.598 + 0.829
8. Jordan King uk Racing Engineering 1:48.632 + 0.863
9. Nobuharu Matsushita jp ART Grand Prix 1:48.699 + 0.930
10. Artem Markelov ru Russian Time 1:48.743 + 0.974
11. André Negrão br Arden International 1:48.822 + 1.053
12. Sergey Sirotkin ru Rapax 1:48.981 + 1.212
13. Norman Nato fr Arden International 1:49.105 + 1.336
14. Arthur Pic fr Campos Racing 1:49.110 + 1.341
15. Sergio Canamasas es Daiko Team Lazarus 1:49.146 + 1.377
16. Dean Stoneman uk Carlin 1:49.166 + 1.397
17. Nicholas Latifi ca MP Motorsport 1:49.350 + 1.581
18. Oliver Rowland uk Status Grand Prix 1:49.374 + 1.605
19. René Binder at MP Motorsport 1:49.661 + 1.892
20. Daniël de Jong nl Trident 1:49.727 + 1.958
21. Nathanaël Berthon fr Daiko Team Lazarus 1:49.779 + 2.010
22. Marlon Stöckinger ph Status Grand Prix 1:49.839 + 2.070
23. Gustav Malja se Rapax 1:50.543 + 2.774
24. Sean Galeal id Carlin 1:51.604 + 3.835

Image via GP2 Series Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)