Andre Haimgartner has been given an eleventh-hour lifeline to remain in the V8 Supercars Championship after claiming the last remaining full-time drive that was up for grabs.

The 20-year-old New Zealander was left out in the cold after being dropped by Super Black Racing towards the end of his 2015 campaign, but has subsequently been signed to race the #3 Holden Commodore of the Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport team left vacant by the Brad Jones Racing-bound Tim Blanchard.

“V8 Supercars has always remained the goal for me, so to join Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport and be on the 2016 Supercar grid is a great feeling,” Heimgartner said of his new drive.

“I’m looking forward to showing what I am capable of and working hard toward success with the LDM team. I’m confident we can punch above our weight throughout the season.”

“Andre is a talented, professional operator and I know he will fit in well here with us at LDM. We’ve worked very hard in the off-season to put together a strong team and I can’t wait until the season begins,” added team owner Lucas Dumbrell.

Heimgartner’s appointment all but confirms the final make-up of the 216 V8 Supercars Championship grid, although Prodrive Racing is yet to officially confirm that Dunlop Series champion Cam Waters will pilot its #6 Ford Falcon FG X alongside defending series champion Mark Winterbottom.

Prodrive did confirm, however, that it had moved Chaz Mostert to its satellite Rod Nash Racing operation for “commercial reasons” – the move was ostensibly viewed by many as a way of ensuring that Mostert and Winterbottom would not have to risk sharing the same pit bay for longer-format races where double-stacking can be a major risk.

2016 V8 Supercars Championship – Provisional Driver Line-ups
# Team / Entry Driver Notes
2. Red Bull Racing Australia Garth Tander
3. Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Andre Heimgartner Moving from Super Black Racing
4. Erebus Motorsport V8 Aaren Russell Promoted from Dunlop Series
5. Prodrive Racing Australia Mark Winterbottom
6. Prodrive Racing Australia Cam Waters* Promoted from Dunlop Series
7. Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly
8. Brad Jones Racing Jason Bright
9. Erebus Motorsport V8 David Reynolds Moving from Rod Nash Racing
12. DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Moving from Brad Jones Racing
14. Brad Jones Racing Tim Slade Moving from Walkinshaw Racing
15. Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly
17. DJR Team Penske Scott Pye
18. Charlie Schwerkolt Racing Lee Holdsworth
19. TEKNO Autosports Will Davison Moving from Erebus Motorsport
21. Brad Jones Racing Tim Blanchard Moving from LD Motorsport
22. Holden Racing Team James Courtney
23. Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso
33. Volvo Polestar Racing Scott McLaughlin
34. Volvo Polestar Racing James Moffat Moving from Nissan Motorsport
55. Rod Nash Racing Chaz Mostert Moving from Prodrive Racing
88. Triple Eight Race Engineering Jamie Whincup
97. Triple Eight Race Engineering Shane van Gisbergen Moving from TEKNO Autosports
99. Nissan Motorsport Dale Wood Moving from Brad Jones Racing
111. Super Black Racing Chris Pither Promoted from Dunlop Series
222. Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Nick Percat
888. Triple Eight Race Engineering Craig Lowndes

* Deal yet to be officially announced

Image via V8 Supercars Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.