Kimi Räikkönen topped the timing sheets for the final day of the first Formula 1 pre-season test at the Circuit de Catalunya, clearing next best Daniil Kvyat by 0.8 seconds.

Although Räikkönen topped the tables on the final day – giving Ferrari its third day on top of the timesheets – the spotlight was again on Mercedes as Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton notched up a combined total of 185 laps as they again shared testing duties.

The reigning champions sent a harrowing message through the paddock as they demonstrated their reliability whilst completing their race simulations, posting competitive, consistent lap times throughout. Both drivers only ran on the medium compound with Rosberg finishing in seventh, a tenth of a second ahead of Hamilton in eighth.

Alfonso Celis Jr placed the Force India in third after a late run on the super softs, half a second slower than Kvyat’s Red Bull. The Mexican development driver completed 75 laps compared to Kvyat’s 96.

McLaren’s steady run of accumulating laps over the past three days came to an end as a coolant leak in the morning saw the team unable to get Fernando Alonso back on track. The Spaniard was only able to complete three laps without setting a time.

Kevin Magnussen made up for a slow start to testing for Renault, racking up 153 laps which was 32 more than Felipe Nasr’s total of 121 in the 2015 Sauber. The Brazilian set the sixth fastest time on the soft tyre.

Max Verstappen was just over 0.1 seconds slower than Magnussen in fifth position, adding 106 laps to teammate’s Carlos Sainz Jr’s total of 161 on Wednesday.

Williams’ Felipe Massa lapped the circuit 54 times and ended the session three seconds off Raikkonen’s pace, with Esteban Gutiérrez over a second behind in the Haas.

Rio Haryanto again posted the slowest time of the day, 4.7 seconds off the pace. The Indonesian only completed 51 laps after he crashed at Turn 5 in the afternoon session and brought out the red flag.

2016 Pre-season Test – Day 4 Unofficial Results
Driver Team / Entry Laps Best Time
1. Kimi Räikkönen fi Scuderia Ferrari SF16-H 80 1:23.477
2. Daniil Kvyat ru Red Bull Racing Tag Heuer RB12 96 + 0.816
3. Alfonso Celis Jr Sahara Force India Mercedes VJM09 75 + 1.363
4. Kevin Magnussen Renault Sport F1 Team RS16 153 + 1.786
5. Max Verstappen nl Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari STR11 110 + 1.916
6. Felipe Nasr br Sauber F1 Team Ferrari C34 121 + 2.576
7. Nico Rosberg de Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 W07 86 + 2.710
8. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 W07 99 + 2.818
9. Felipe Massa br Williams Martini Racing Mercedes FW38 54 + 3.006
10. Esteban Gutiérrez Haas F1 Team Ferrari VF-16 89 + 4.325
11. Rio Haryanto id Manor Racing Mercedes MRT5 51 + 4.789
Fernando Alonso es McLaren-Honda MP4-31 3  –

Image via XPB Images

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)