Scott McLaughlin has broken a one-year victory drought by winning Saturday’s opening race of the WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint round of the V8 Supercars Championship.

The win was McLaughlin’s and Volvo team’s first since 2014 at the same circuit. He is also the season’s sixth different race-winner in as many races.

Having been the pacesetter all weekend, McLaughlin started from pole position and led the race from lights to flag, ultimately winning the 27-lap, 120-kilometre race by 1.2 seconds from six-time series champion Jamie Whincup.

Early on, second place was held by Ford driver Chaz Mostert, but he lost the position during the race’s compulsory pit stop cycle when jumped by the faster-stopping Whincup.

Mostert’s race fortunes took a turn for the worse on the final lap, when his front-right tyre punctured. He limped across the finish line in 23rd position, giving fellow Ford driver Fabian Coulthard the final podium spot in just his sixth race for DJR Team Penske.

The same felt befell Coulthard’s teammate Scott Pye, who was also on course for a top-ten finish until his front-right tyre also popped, sending the youngster on a wild spin through the circuit’s infield.

By contrast, Coulthard drove a cracking race, overtaking Shane van Gisbergen, Mark Winterbottom and Craig Lowndes. They finished behind him to claim fourth through sixth positions.

McLaughlin’s teammate James Moffat capped off a great day for Volvo by getting the second S60 into the top-ten with a seventh-placed finish, his best result since joining the team at the start of the year. Tim Slade, Garth Tander and Jason Bright rounded off the top ten.

2016 V8 Supercars WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint – Race 6 Top-10 Finishers (27 laps)
Pos Driver Team / Entry Time
1. Scott McLaughlin Polestar GRM Volvo 42:39.809
2. Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Engineering + 1.242
3. Fabian Coulthard DJR Team Penske + 10.901
4. Shane van Gisbergen Triple Eight Engineering + 16.814
5. Mark Winterbottom Prodrive Racing Australia + 17.199
6. Craig Lowndes Triple Eight Engineering + 19.915
7. James Moffat Polestar GRM Volvo + 23.409
8. Tim Slade Brad Jones Racing + 23.546
9. Garth Tander Holden Racing Team + 29.896
10. Jason Bright Brad Jones Racing + 30.308

Image via

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.