Scott McLaughlin has secured a clean sweep of the V8 Supercars WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint round with victory in Sunday’s 200-kilometre feature race. In doing so, he has become the first multiple winner of what is quickly becoming one of the most widely contested seasons in the championship’s history.

Once again, the Volvo driver started from pole position and won in dominant fashion, this time leading home defending series champion Mark Winterbottom’s Prodrive Racing Ford by just over one second.

His dominance was briefly threatened thanks to a late Safety Car brought on by a puncture suffered by Winterbottom’s teammate Cameron Waters, but he held his nerve over the final few laps to claim victory.

Winterbottom moved into second place at the restart when Jamie Whincup carried too much speed through the final corner. The Red Bull Racing driver ran wide at the corner exit and dropped to fourth behind the DJR Team Penske Ford of Scott Pye, but still leaves the weekend with a narrow lead in the Drivers’ Championship standings thanks to his second-placed finish on Saturday.

Whincup’s stablemate Craig Lowndes finished fifth ahead of Nissan Motorsport driver Michael Caruso, who crossed the finish line in sixth place ahead of James Courtney HRT Holden.

Winterbottom’s teammate Chaz Mostert recovered from being tipped into a spin on the opening lap by Garth Tander to finish a fine eighth ahead of Will Davison and Shane van Gisbergen.

McLaughlin’s double victory has brought him up to second place in the Drivers’ Championship standings, 15 points behind Whincup.

2016 V8 Supercars WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint – Race 7 Top-10 Finishers (45 laps)
Pos Driver Team / Entry Time
1. Scott McLaughlin Polestar GRM Volvo 1:17:33.426
2. Mark Winterbottom Prodrive Racing Australia + 1.006
3. Scott Pye DJR Team Penske + 2.887
4. Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Engineering + 3.298
5. Craig Lowndes Triple Eight Engineering + 3.805
6. Michael Caruso Nissan Motorsport + 6.399
7. James Courtney Holden Racing Team + 7.017
8. Chaz Mostert Rod Nash Racing + 7.902
9. Will Davison TEKNO Autosports + 9.680
10. Shane van Gisbergen Triple Eight Engineering + 10.746

Image via

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.