The FIA Formula E Championship has announced the cancellation of the Moscow ePrix round of the 2015/16 season.

Originally scheduled as the ninth round of the season to be held on Saturday June 4, it is understood that unforeseen restrictions imposed by local city authorities regarding the road closures required for the event have forced the event to be abandoned.

The series attempted to find an alternate venue, in particular Monaco, which is scheduled to host its Formula One Grand Prix the previous weekend.

The Principality hosted Formula E during the inaugural season – filling the date used on even-numbered years by the Monaco Historic Grand Prix – but ultimately a deal for a substitute event could not be struck at such short notice.

Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag detailed the situation: “While it is unfortunate news not to race in Moscow on June 4, we looked at a number of alternative options as a replacement but were not able to find a viable solution on that specific date.

“We explored all possibilities including returning to Monaco, but regrettably couldn’t organise the change of venue on such short notice. I’d like to express my thanks to HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco, Mr. Michel Boeri, and the Automobile Club de Monaco who did their utmost to see Formula E return to the streets of the Principality for season two. We will now focus on the three remaining races in Berlin and the double-header in London, which I’m sure will deliver a thrilling conclusion in the battle for the championship.”

The championship will continue as scheduled for round eight in Berlin on Saturday May 21, before the London double-header comprising races nine and ten to end the season across the weekend of July 2 & 3.

2015/6 FIA Formula E World Championship Season Calendar (REVISED)
Date Event Location
24 October 2015 cn Beijing ePrix Beijing Olympic Green Circuit, China
07 November 2015 my Putrajaya ePrix Putrajaya street circuit, Malaysia
19 December 2015 uy Punta del Este ePrix Punta del Este street circuit, Uruguay
06 February 2016 it Buenos Aires ePrix Puerto Madero street circuit, Argentina
12 March 2016 mx Mexico City ePrix Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico
02 April 2016 us Long Beach ePrix Long Beach street circuit, United States
23 April 2016 fr Paris ePrix Les Invalides street circuit, Paris, France
21 May 2016 de Berlin ePrix Berlin street circuit, Germany
02-03 Jul 2016 uk London ePrix Battersea Park street circuit, London, United Kingdom

Image via FIA Formula E Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Mitch Timms

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Professional motorsport engineer and all-round tech head.