Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo has topped the second free practice session of the Monaco Grand Prix by over half a second to Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg, who was a further three-tenths of a second behind.

The Australian bolted on a set of purple-marked ultra-soft tyres early in the session to put a best time of 1:15.315 on the board, 0.174 seconds faster than Hamilton’s best time.

Ricciardo then improved by three-tenths of a second to register a time that would have been good enough for pole position last year, then almost took half a second off his time towards the end of the session for a final time of 1:14.607.

His teammate Max Verstappen finished in fourth position almost a second adrift, while the Toro Rosso pair of Daniil Kvyat and Carlos Sainz finished in fifth and sixth position respectively.

The second practice session saw the Virtual Safety Car appear on three occasions; the first was seven minutes into the session when Romain Grosjean lost control of his Haas coming out of the tunnel and hit the barrier, leaving debris on the track. Not long afterwards, Rio Haryanto made the same error as Grosjean, although experienced more damage on his Manor Racing Mercedes.

Kevin Magnussen brought out the third Virtual Safety Car when he buried his Renault into the wall on the final corner of the circuit, leaving the French outfit with another repair job to complete before Saturday’s third practice following Jolyon Palmer’s accident in the earlier FP1 session.

Ferrari spent most of the first half of the session completing race simulations on the super-soft tyre with Sebastian Vettel. The German made the switch to the ultra-soft tyre halfway through practice and quickly spun at Mirabeau, damaging his rear wing. The interruption left him fourteenth fastest.

Kimi Räikkönen enjoyed a more trouble free session than his teammate in the sister Ferrari, finishing seventh-quickest. However, the Finn’s best time was only good enough to be 1.4 seconds off the pace.

Force India’s Sergio Pérez finished eighth and three-tenths of a second ahead of his teammate Nico Hülkenberg in tenth, while McLaren’s Jenson Button split the pair in ninth position.

Driver Team / Entry Result Laps
1. Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing Tag Heuer RB12 1:14.607 40
2. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 W07 Hybrid + 0.606 36
3. Nico Rosberg de Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 W07 Hybrid + 0.899 48
4. Max Verstappen nl Red Bull Racing Tag Heuer RB12 + 0.964 42
5. Daniil Kvyat ru Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari STR11 + 1.208 53
6. Carlos Sainz Jr es Scuderia Toro Rosso Ferrari STR11 + 1.374 54
7. Kimi Räikkönen fi Scuderia Ferrari SF16-H + 1.433 38
8. Sergio Pérez Sahara Force India Mercedes VJM09 + 1.513 48
9. Sebastian Vettel de Scuderia Ferrari SF16-H + 1.662 40
10. Jenson Button McLaren-Honda MP4-31 + 1.718 46
11. Nico Hülkenberg de Sahara Force India Mercedes VJM09 + 1.880 49
12. Fernando Alonso es McLaren-Honda MP4-31 + 2.116 43
13. Esteban Gutiérrez Haas F1 Ferrari VF-16 + 2.175 40
14. Valtteri Bottas fi Williams Martini Racing Mercedes FW38 + 2.242 47
15. Romain Grosjean fr Haas F1 Ferrari VF-16 + 2.267 23
16. Felipe Massa br Williams Martini Racing Mercedes FW38 + 2.679 42
17. Kevin Magnussen dk Renault Sport F1 Team RS16 + 2.923 29
18. Marcus Ericsson Sauber F1 Team Ferrari C35 + 2.955 39
19. Jolyon Palmer Renault Sport F1 Team RS16 + 3.154 24
20. Felipe Nasr br Sauber F1 Team Ferrari C35 + 3.392 49
21. Rio Haryanto id Manor Racing Mercedes MRT5 + 4.040 10
22. Pascal Wehrlein de Manor Racing Mercedes MRT5 + 4.207 46

Image via Red Bull Content Pool

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)