Sergey Sirotkin has mastered an eventful qualifying session with a stellar lap that put him on pole position for Saturday’s GP2 Series Feature Race at Monaco.

Under the event’s unique qualifying system, drivers were split into two groups of 11 cars each for two 16-minute sessions. Group A consisted of the even-numbered cars and Group B had the odd-numbered entries.

Group A drew the first session with Norman Nato topping that with a 1:19.894 while Spain pole-winner Pierre Gasly missed a call to the weighbridge and will be forced the start the Feature Race from the pit lane. It was another blow for the championship leader who endured a dismal session that only saw him qualify 16th-fastest for PREMA.

Sergey Sirotkin and Jordan King both beat Nato’s time to guarantee pole for Group B with King first setting the fastest overall time before Sirotkin bettered him by less than one-tenth of a second. With three minutes to go, the session was stopped after Russian Time’s Artem Markelov crashed heavily at Sainte Devote, writing off his car and damaging the barriers.

After a 20-minute pause to repair the barriers, all drivers went out again for one final attempt, giving Sirotkin the chance to improve by half a second and securing pole position; King failed to post a better lap.

Nato however, will still start second for Racing Engineering having topped Group A ahead of team mate Jordan King in third.

Mitch Evans will start his Campos from fourth place ahead of MP Motorsport’s Oliver Rowland and Alex Lynn in the DAMS.

Antonio Giovinazzi will line up seventh for PREMA ahead of Raffaele Marciello, Nicholas Latifi and Ghiotto, who round up the top ten.

Sergio Canamasas who endured damage after clipping a barrier has also missed a call to the weighbridge and earned an identical starting penalty to Gasly.

The GP2 Feature Race will begin on Friday at 11:15 local time (GMT +2) and run for 42 laps.

2016 GP2 Series Monaco – Qualifying Results
Driver Team / Entry Time Gap
1. Sergey Sirotkin ru ART Grand Prix 1:19.186
2. Norman Nato fr Racing Engineering 1:19.894 + 0.708
3. Jordan King uk Racing Engineering 1:19.691 + 0.505
4. Mitch Evans nz Pertamina Campos Racing 1:19.962 + 0.776
5. Oliver Rowland uk MP Motorsport 1:19.852 + 0.666
6. Alex Lynn uk DAMS 1:20.014 + 0.828
7. Antonio Giovanazzi it PREMA Racing 1:19.972 + 0.786
8. Raffaele Marciello it RUSSIAN TIME 1:20.601 + 1.415
9. Nicholas Latifi ca DAMS 1:20.182 + 0.996
10. Luca Ghiotto it Trident 1:20.630 + 1.444
11. Arthur Pic fr Rapax 1:20.360 + 1.174
12. Nobuharu Matsushita jp ART Grand Prix 1:20.744 + 1.558
13. Sergio Canamasas* es Carlin 1:20.600 + 1.414
14. Marvin Kirchöfer de Carlin 1:21.016 + 1.830
15. Sean Galeal id Pertamina Campos Racing 1:20.877 + 1.691
16. Pierre Gasly* fr PREMA Racing 1:21.381 + 2.195
17. Artem Markelov ru RUSSIAN TIME 1:22.160 + 2.974
18. Gustav Malja se Rapax 1:21.965 + 2.779
19. Philo Paz Armand id Trident 1:22.707 + 3.521
20. Daniel de Jong nl MP Motorsport 1:21.978 + 2.792
21. Nabil Jeffri my Arden International 1:22.722 + 3.536
22. Jimmy Eriksson se Arden International 1:22.029 + 2.843

* Post-Qualifying grid penalties:

  • Sergio Canamasas and Pierre Gasly – who qualified 13th and 16th respectively – will start the Feature Race from the pit lane for failing to stop at the scrutineering weighbridge.
  • Nabil Jeffri – who qualified 21st – will serve a 3-place grid drop for the Feature Race after being ruled to have impeded Artem Markelov during the Group B qualifying session. As he is unable to serve the full grid penalty, he will start the Feature Race from the pit lane.

Image via GP2 Series Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Ahmad Shallouf

Contributing Writer at MotorsportM8