Jordan King clinched his maiden win in GP2 Series with style after a commanding drive from pole saw him lead the reversed-grid Sprint Race from lights to flag despite three Safety Car periods.

After ART’s Sergey Sirotkin was penalised for overtaking behind the Safety Car in the Feature Race along with Gustav Malja, the reversed grid pole was inherited by King who led away as the race started behind the Safety Car in wet conditions.

King managed the gap as behind him Oliver Rowland overtook Norman Nato for second place and kept a charging Raffaele Marciello in check before the Italian lost third place to Alex Lynn. Lynn started his DAMS entry from eleventh place, but carved his way through to complete an all-British podium.

Despite losing out to Lynn with a mistake into Turn 1, Marciello still managed to finish fourth and keep the lead of the GP2 Series Drivers’ Championship standings, with just 26 points covering the top 10.

Starting a lowly 17th, Antonio Giovinazzi continued to impress as he managed to race his way to fifth while his compatriot and fellow rookie Luca Ghiotto spun at the final corner, allowing Sirotkin into sixth place after starting twelfth due to his penalty. Behind him came Pierre Gasly and Feature Race winner Mitch Evans, who were the last of the points scorers.

The next round of the season will be the British Grand Prix at Silverstone in a week’s time, July 8-10.

2016 GP2 Series Austria – Sprint Race Final Classification (28 laps)
Driver Team / Entry Laps Result
1. Jordan King uk Racing Engineering 28 44:34.966
2. Oliver Rowland uk MP Motorsport 28 + 6.019
3. Alex Lynn uk DAMS 28 + 7.702
4. Raffaele Marciello it RUSSIAN TIME 28 + 10.234
5. Antonio Giovinazzi it PREMA Racing 28 + 10.417
6. Sergey Sirotkin ru ART Grand Prix 28 + 11.821
7. Pierre Gasly fr PREMA Racing 28 + 12.594
8. Mitch Evans nz Pertamina Campos Racing 28 + 12.881
9. Luca Ghiotto it Trident 28 + 15.878
10. Sergio Canamasas es Carlin 28 + 35.019
11. Artem Markelov ru RUSSIAN TIME 28 + 57.740
12. Norman Nato fr Racing Engineering 28 + 1:00.076
13. Jimmy Eriksson se Arden International 28 + 1:00.107
14. Philo Paz Armand id Trident 28 + 1:16.880
15. René Binder at ART Grand Prix 28 + 1:17.325
16. Gustav Malja se Rapax 27 1 lap behind
17. Arthur Pic fr Rapax 27 1 lap behind
18. Nabil Jeffri my Arden International 27 1 lap behind
19. Marvin Kirchhöfer de Carlin 27 1 lap behind
20. Daniël de Jong nl MP Motorsport 27 1 lap behind
Not Classified Team / Entry Laps
DNF. Nicholas Latifi ca DAMS 20 Spin
DNF. Sean Gelael id Pertamina Campos Racing 3 Collision

Image via GP2 Series Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Ahmad Shallouf

Contributing Writer at MotorsportM8