PREMA driver and Red Bull junior Pierre Gasly has ended an almost three-year drought with a brilliant drive in the GP2 Series Feature Race at Silverstone. Antonio Giovinazzi came in second to make it a PREMA one-two after he demoted Oliver Rowland to third in the dying stages of the race.

Gasly’s last win dated back to his Formula Renault 2.0 days in 2013, but the Frenchman put a stellar drive from second on the grid to win his first race in GP2 and lead home a PREMA 1-2.

Gasly started in second position on the option tyre, but pitted early for primes and came out 32 seconds behind pole sitter rival Norman Nato who was on the opposite strategy.

As Nato struggled on the prime tyre, Gasly managed to narrow the gap to just 16 seconds when Nato went in for his stop, handing the lead to Gasly who had a comfortable enough cushion to cruise home and win by a margin of nine seconds.

Gasly’s teammate Giovinazzi and MP Motorsports’ Oliver Rowland ran a similar strategy and finished on the podium with Giovinazzi overtaking Rowland on the very last lap to claim second.

Mitch Evans had a bad start but fought back to finish fourth with a prime/option strategy while rookie Luca Ghiotto continued to impress by finishing fifth after starting from the back of the grid.

Series returnee Nobuharu Matsushita finished sixth for ART while Norman Nato’s difficult race culminated in a seventh place finish.

Mitch Evans endured a slow stop and finished eighth, giving him reversed-grid pole for tomorrow’s sprint race, behind him were the Russian Time pair of Raffaele Marciello and Artem Markelov in ninth and tenth.

The points lead again changes hands with Gasly’s win as he now leads the Series with 72 points, with four points covering Giovinazzi, Evans, Rowland and Marciello.

Sunday’s Sprint Race starts at 09:25 local time (GMT +1).

2016 GP2 Series Great Britain – Feature Race Final Classification (29 laps)
Driver Team / Entry Laps Result
1. Pierre Gasly fr PREMA Racing 29 51:39.383
2. Antonio Giovinazzi it PREMA Racing 29 + 9.422
3. Oliver Rowland uk MP Motorsport 29 + 11.090
4. Mitch Evans nz Pertamina Campos Racing 29 + 21.667
5. Luca Ghiotto it Trident 29 + 24.591
6. Nobuharu Matsushita jp ART Grand Prix 29 + 25.165
7. Norman Nato fr Racing Engineering 29 + 25.474
8. Jordan King uk Racing Engineering 29 + 25.651
9. Raffaele Marciello it RUSSIAN TIME 29 + 31.757
10. Artem Markelov ru RUSSIAN TIME 29 + 33.115
11. Nicholas Latifi ca DAMS 29 + 34.220
12. Marvin Kirchhöfer de Carlin 29 + 34.409
13. Sergio Canamasas es Carlin 29 + 37.898
14. Arthur Pic fr Rapax 29 + 41.610
15. Jimmy Eriksson se Arden International 29 + 55.205
16. Alex Lynn uk DAMS 29 + 56.604
17. Nabil Jeffri my Arden International 29 + 57.490
18. Sergey Sirotkin ru ART Grand Prix 29 + 1:02.096
19. Daniel de Jong nl MP Motorsport 29 + 1:23.661
20. Philo Paz Armand id Trident 29 + 1:39.764
21. Sean Gelael id Pertamina Campos Racing 28 1 lap behind
22. Gustav Malja se Rapax 28 1 lap behind

*Post-Race Penalties:

  • None

Image via GP2 Series Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Ahmad Shallouf

Contributing Writer at MotorsportM8