Craig Lowndes has claimed a dominant victory to close out the Ipswich SuperSprint round of the Australian Supercars Championship at Queensland raceway.

The Triple Eight Racing Holden driver finished the 65-lap race 2.6 seconds clear of teammate Jamie Whincup after beating him off the start line.

While Lowndes was able to bolt clear to an ultimately unchallenged run to victory, Whincup was kept rather busy and had to fend off a number of attacks from the likes of the Fords of Mark Winterbottom and Chaz Mostert, as well as Nissan Motorsport’s Michael Caruso.

Whincup would eventually persevere to claim a team 1-2 finish, while Mostert completed the podium placings ahead of Caruso and defending champion Winterbottom.

Sixth place went to Volvo driver Scott McLaughlin – who bounced back from a poor showing yesterday – who finished ahead of Tim Slade’s Holden and the Super Black Racing Ford of Chris Pither, who claimed his and the team’s best ever race result.

By contrast, Saturday race-winner Shane van Gisbergen had an absolutely shocker. The New Zealander made an unexpected pit stop in anticipation of a Safety Car interruption when the DJR Team Penske Ford of Scott Pye slid into the gravel, but the youngster was able to extricate his car and continue. The pit call dropped van Gisbergen well down the order, and he finished a frustrated twelfth to fall 110 points behind Whincup in the Drivers’ Championship standings.

Van Gisbergen now sits just 10 points clear of third-placed Winterbottom, while the race-winner Lowndes is a further 20 points behind.

The next round of the championship season takes place at Sydney Motorsport Park on August 27-28.

2016 Australian Supercars Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint – Race 17 Top-10 Finishers (65 laps)
Pos Driver Team / Entry Time
1. Craig Lowndes Triple Eight Engineering 1:19:07.496
2. Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Engineering + 2.602
3. Chaz Mostert Rod Nash Racing + 4.942
4. Michael Caruso Nissan Motorsport + 5.842
5. Mark Winterbottom Prodrive Racing Australia + 7.848
6. Scott McLaughlin Polestar GRM Volvo + 9.612
7. Tim Slade Brad Jones Racing + 10.068
8. Chris Pither Super Black Racing + 22.224
9. Todd Kelly Nissan Motorsport + 24.347
10. Fabian Coulthard DJR Team Penske + 26.928

Image via Red Bull Content Pool

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.