Chaz Mostert’s co-driver Steve Owen will start Saturday’s Sandown 500 co-driver Sprint Race from pole position after a scintillating flying lap from the Ford frontrunner.

Mostert continued his red-hot form in qualifying – having claim pole in both of the preceding races at Sydney Motorsport Park – and once again put his SuperCheap Auto Racing Ford in top spot in a tight qualifying session at Sandown Raceway.

Provisionally sitting fourth-fastest after his first run, Mostert bolted on a set of brand new Dunlop tyres and clocked a 1:08.6147 time to topple championship leader Jamie Whincup from top spot by just 0.084 seconds.

Whincup was able to hang on for a front-row start for his co-driver Paul Dumbrell, qualifying ahead of DJR Team Penske Ford driver Fabian Coulthard.

Garth Tander, James Moffat, Will Davison, Scott McLaughlin, James Courtney, Shane van Gisbergen and Michael Caruso rounded out the first five rows of the grid.

Defending champion Mark Winterbottom continued his patchy mid-season form, qualifying his Prodrive Racing Ford eleventh-fastest. Series veteran Craig Lowndes also disappointed, qualifying fourteenth-quickest in his Triple Eight Holden.

Saturday’s racing action kicks off with two 20-lap Sprint Races – the first for the co-drivers, and the second for the main drivers – with the results determining the starting order for Sunday’s 500-kilometre feature race.

2016 Australian Supercars Wilson Security Sandown 500 – Top-10 Preliminary Qualifiers
Pos Driver Team / Entry Time
1. Chaz Mostert Rod Nash Racing 1:08.6147
2. Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Engineering + 0.084
3. Fabian Coulthard DJR Team Penske + 0.1516
4. Garth Tander Holden Racing Team + 0.1758
5. James Moffat Polestar GRM Volvo + 0.1965
6. Will Davison TEKNO Autosport + 0.1995
7. Scott McLaughlin Polestar GRM Volvo + 0.2090
8. James Courtney Holden Racing Team + 0.2297
9. Shane van Gisbergen Triple Eight Engineering + 0.2376
10. Michael Caruso Nissan Motorsport + 0.2718

Image via

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.