Scott Pye will drive for the Walkinshaw Racing Supercars Championship outfit as teammate to James Courtney, after the team secured a three-year contract with the promising youngster.

Pye, currently racing for DJR Team Penske, was on the market for a new team after his employers signed Scott McLaughlin on a multi-year contract.

Walkinshaw Racing’s loss of its long-time factory backing from Holden did not prove a deterrent for Pye, who expressed his delight in having his racing future confirmed.

“When the opportunity came up to sign with Walkinshaw Racing it’s something I didn’t have to think too long about,” said Pye.

“Since joining the championship in 2012 I haven’t really had any real continuity and I’m excited about having the next three years locked away and knowing that I will be working with the same group of people.”

The team also used the announcement to confirm that it had re-signed Courtney, for a further three years. The 2010 Series Champion, who has raced for the outfit since 2011, admitted to knocking back a highly lucrative offer to race overseas next year.

“When I first came to Walkinshaw Racing I set myself the goal to win another championship with this team and I’m even more determined now to achieve that,” said Courtney.

“I’ve also put a lot of blood, sweat and tears into this team and would hate it if I walked away from here and someone else rolled in and started getting all the success we have worked so hard for.”

Their signing means that Garth Tander, who has raced for the team since 2006, will be looking for a new home.

Garth Tander

Tander was sacked a week after winning the Sandown 500

“Garth was our longest ever serving driver and achieved an incredible amount of success for the team including 50 race wins, 26 pole positions, 72 podiums, two Bathurst wins and a Drivers’ Championship,” said team owner Ryan Walkinshaw.

“He will always be considered a brother to the Walkinshaw family and we wish him the very best of luck with his future.”

Tander was understandably disappointed that his 12-year tenure with the team – with whom he won the 2007 title under its HSV Dealer Team moniker – was coming to an end, but expressed his determination to remain on the grid next year.

The news was all the more of a bitter pill to swallow, coming less than a week after the 39-year-old ended the team’s winless streak by claiming victory at the Sandown 500.

The West Australian is tipped to take McLaughlin’s vacant seat at Garry Rogers Motorsport.

Image via Walkinshaw Racing

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.