The FIA has released the provisional calendar for the 2017 season which remains at 21 races, again clashing with the 24 hours of Le Mans.

The season-opener will again take place in Melbourne although pushed back two weeks from its regular slot, to allow teams time to adapt to the regulation overhaul for 2017.

China has swapped with Bahrain and will now be the second race on the calendar after Melbourne, with the two races the first back to back of the season.

Despite rumours that Canada and Azerbaijan would swap to allow F1 personal an easier time zone change, the two races will remain in their 2016 place as a back to back with Baku clashing with Le Mans, while July will again feature four races providing Germany remains on the calendar.

While it is the Nurburgring’s turn to host Formula 1, Hockenheim is listed in the provisional calendar, although, the race is yet to be confirmed as Hockenheim may not have the financials to host a race in successive years.

Malaysia will become the first of the flyaway races after the European season, swapping with Singapore which will now take place as a back to back with Japan.

The other notable change is the week gap between USA and Mexico. The two races were back to backs in 2016 which made for feasible scheduling heading into Brazil, however, in 2017, Mexico will be a double header with Brazil rather than the US.

Brazil remains unconfirmed by the FIA despite circuit officials dismissing any financial difficulties, while Abu Dhabi will again host the season finale.

2017 F1 provisional calendar:

March 26 Australia (Melbourne)
April 9 China (Shanghai)
April 16 Bahrain (Sakhir)
April 30 Russia (Sochi)
May 14 Spain (Barcelona)
May 28 Monaco
June 11 Canada (Montreal)*
June 18 Europe (Baku)
July 2 Austria (Red Bull Ring)
July 9 Britain (Silverstone)
July 23 Hungary (Hungaroring)
July 30 Germany (Hockenheim)*
August 27 Belgium (Spa)
September 3 Italy (Monza)
September 17 Malaysia (Sepang)
October 1 Singapore (Marina Bay)
October 8 Japan (Suzuka)
October 22 United States (Austin)
November 5 Mexico (Mexico City)
November 12 Brazil (Interlagos)*
November 26 Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina)

Image via Red Bull Content Pool

The following two tabs change content below.

Josh Kruse

Latest posts by Josh Kruse (see all)