Jamie Whincup and his co-driver Paul Dumbrell will start the SuperCheap Auto Bathurst 1000 from pole position after Whincup edged out Scott McLaughlin’s Volvo by just 0.065 seconds in an exciting Top-10 Shootout session.

The Red Bull Racing duo have been the pace-setters all weekend, and after Whincup claimed provisional pole position in yesterday’s preliminary qualifying session he was expected to once again be a contender in the late afternoon one-lap dash.

He was made to work hard on his flying lap, and despite a wobble through The Dipper that saw him come close to scraping the wall he managed to pip McLaughlin by a narrow margin with a lap time of 2:05.4263 around the 6.2-kilometre circuit.

The penultimate man out on track, McLaughlin’s hold of pole position – with a lap that knocked DJE Team Penske’s Fabian Coulthard from top spot – proved all to brief, but he will still start on the front row for Sunday’s 161-lap marathon race.

Coulthard heads an all-Ford second row of the grid after he narrowly outpaced Chaz Mostert’s Falcon. Tim Slade, Michael Caruso, Shane van Gisbergen, Garth Tander and Mark Winterbottom rounded out the Shootout runners.

Caruso was the first man out on track and posted an impressive banker lap in his Nissan, which proved unbeatable until Coulthard’s neat effort later in the session.

Defending champion Mark Winterbottom continued his recent run of patchy form, locking up his Prodrive Racing Ford on the approach to The Chase and sliding off-track at its exit.

Sunday’s 1000-kilometre race starts at 11:10am local time (GMT +11).

2016 Australian Supercars SuperCheap Auto Bathurst 1000 – Top-10 Shootout Results
Pos Driver Team / Entry Time
1. Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Engineering 2:05.4263
2. Scott McLaughlin Polestar GRM Volvo + 0.0652
3. Chaz Mostert Rod Nash Racing + 0.1005
4. Fabian Coulthard DJR Team Penske + 0.2463
5. Tim Slade Brad Jones Racing + 0.4305
6. Michael Caruso Nissan Motorsport + 0.4904
7. Shane van Gisbergen Triple Eight Engineering + 0.8287
8. Garth Tander Holden Racing Team + 1.1275
9. Scott Pye DJR Team Penske + 1.1294
10. Mark Winterbottom Prodrive Racing Australia + 2.8352

Image via Red Bull Content Pool

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.