Pierre Gasly has become the second Frenchman to be crowned GP2 Series champion after winning the title on the very last race of the season.

The PREMA driver finished outside of the points in ninth place but it didn’t matter as his team mate and championship rival Antonio Giovinazzi struggled all race and couldn’t eventually overturn the 12-point deficit he had to Gasly, finishing sixth.

Alex Lynn started from reversed grid pole and lead a flawless drive to take his third victory of the season, finishing ahead of Johnny Cecotto, Jr. The Venezuelan driver made a last-minute overtake on Sergey Sirotkin, leaving the Russian to finish third and still take third in the Drivers’ Championship standings despite being equal with Raffaele Marciello on 159 points after taking the bonus points for posting the fastest lap of the race.

Nobuharu Matsushita overtook Norman Nato halfway through the race to take fourth ahead of the Frenchman in fifth while Antonio Giovinazzi’s efforts were further hindered by losing out at the start, dropping from fourth to sixth and finishing there after holding off Artem Markelov in the closing stages, the pair coming to contact on Turn 11, while Mitch Evans collected the final point via a last-lap pass on eventual champion Gasly.

Image via GP2 Series Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Ahmad Shallouf

Contributing Writer at MotorsportM8