Walkinshaw Racing has undergone an identity change in the Australian Supercars off-season in the wake of the loss of its long-time standing as Holden’s official racing team.

The team will race under the Mobil 1 HSV Racing banner in 2017, and today took the opportunity to unveil its new title sponsor and livery scheme it will run this year.

“We have two of the most recognisable and longstanding partners in the sport – Mobil 1 and HSV, who have come together as the naming rights sponsors of our new team. Together with the extensive expertise in the Walkinshaw garage, we believe we are in a perfect position to kick-start our new chapter,” team owner Ryan Walkinshaw said.

The team will run two Holden VF Commodores for incumbent driver James Courtney and the team’s new signing Scott Pye, who replaces Garth Tander.

The team also confirmed its Pirtek Enduro Cup co-driver line-up, announcing the return of Jack Perkins as Courtney’s steering partner, while also retaining Warren Luff as Pye’s new co-driver.

Image via Walkinshaw Racing

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.