Australian champions, members and motor sport industry figures have celebrated the 2016 motor racing season at the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport Awards ‘Champions and Rivals Gala’, held at Crown Casino in Melbourne.

With the support of major sponsor Burson Auto Parts, CAMS formally recognised national champions alongside those who have made long-standing contributions to Australian motor sport.

CAMS Life Memberships were the first to be awarded on the night, with Colin Trinder, Alan Vaughan, Denise Strawbridge and John Bowe all receiving life membership honours for their contributions to motor sport spanning multiple decades.

Bill Buckle OAM received the Phil Irving Award for 2016, recognising his engineering excellence across an outstanding 60 year career.

After being recognised on the Australia Day honours list, Mark Webber AO was awarded the Peter Brock Medal in recognition of his outstanding international motor sport career. Webber recently announced his retirement from full-time professional competition, with career highlights including being crowned 2015 FIA World Endurance Champion and nine FIA Formula One World Championship race victories.

Shane van Gisbergen, CAMS Award 2016

Shane van Gisbergen was recognised for winning his maiden Australian Supercars Championship title.

As well as Webber’s recognition on the international stage, Australia’s own Dr Brent May was recognised by the FIA as the Best Doctor of the Season.

Garrett ‘Garry’ Coleman OAM accepted a Presidential Citation for being a National Coordinator and Senior Chaplain at motor sport events.

Locally, Dr Michael Henderson received the Award of Merit, while Robert Thiry was awarded the 2015 Australian Official of the Year.

Joey Mawson was awarded the CAMS Young Driver of the Year for the second consecutive time, after claiming the 2016 German Formula 4 Championship.

Motor sport media identities were also honoured, with photographer Glenis Lindley and Neil Crompton receiving Media Service Awards.

Rebecca Thompson took out the Photograph of the Year, with John Morris claiming Photographer of the Year honours and Paul Gover awarded Journalist of the Year.

National series and class champions were also formally presented with their respective championship and series trophies across all motor sport disciplines, including off road, circuit, rally and karting.

Images via George Hitchens

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.