The FIA World Motor Sport Council has announced a new date for its Argentinian round of the FIA World Touring Car Championship, as well as a new location for its Chinese round, after releasing an updated version of its 2017 season calendar.

The changes were announced today at an extraordinary meeting of the FIA WMSC.

The Race of Argentina at Termas de Río Hondo will now take place on the weekend of July 15-16, two weeks earlier than the originally scheduled dates of August 5-6.

The following round in China will also be relocated from the Shanghai International Circuit, as confirmed by the supporting China Touring Car Championship series a month ago. The round will now take place at the new Ningbo International Circuit, occuring a lengthy three months after the series’ visit to South America.

The updated calendar is as follows:

2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship Season Calendar
Date Event Location
09 April it Race of Morocco Circuit International Automobile Moulay El Hassan, Marrakech
30 April it Race of Italy Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Milan
14 May it Race of Hungary Hungaroring, Budapest
27 May de Race of Germany Nürburgring Nordschleife, Nürburg
25 June it Race of Portugal Circuito Internacional de Vila Real, Vila Real
16 July it Race of Argentina Termas de Río Hondo, Río Hondo
15 October cn Race of China Ningbo International Circuit, Shanghai
29 October jp Race of Japan Twin Ring Motegi road course, Motegi
19 November it Guia Race of Macau Guia Circuit, Macau
01 December it Race of Qatar Losail International Circuit, Lusail

* Subject to final signature of the event’s promoter

Also announced by the WMSC is the previously announced second-tier class, WTCC-2, which was to feature TCN2 (TCR) specification cars to boost the WTCC’s dwindling grid sizes, has been abandoned.

Instead, series organisers have determined that the additional cars won’t be needed, all but confirming that the championship will field the minimum 16 entries required under its commercial agreements with individual event organisers.

“The proposed WTCC 2 category announced at the conclusion of the World Motor Sport Council of 30 November 2016 has been deleted for the 2017 season,” the FIA statement reads.

“This has been done to allow the Touring Car Commission and the Promoter to focus entirely on the main category (TC1) in 2017.”

The FIA WTCC entry list for the TC1 class will be published on March 14. So far, 12 TC1 cars and drivers have been confirmed so far and more are expected ahead of the season’s launch event.

Image via FIA WTCC Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.